We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like being transported to the Greek islands”
Review of Taverna Dionysos

Taverna Dionysos
Ranked #27 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: A little Greece on the riverbank of the Danube... Dionysos moved to the Pest bank of the River Danube on New Year's Eve 1993 and has since delighted the dwellers of our city with delicacies of Greek cuisine and delicious wine of its vineyards. The air is filled with the fragrance of char-grilled meats and fishes, fresh-cut vegetables and crispy-baked home style bread. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere, diners chit-chat casually around the tables, which blends pleasantly into the melodies of Greek music playing in the background. It is good to be in this restaurant. The pampering feeling of authentic entertainment accompanies the guests from the moment they enter up until they leave. We hope you visit us soon so that we may entertain you for a few hours here in little Greece of Budapest!
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Feels like being transported to the Greek islands”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Clearly very popular with the beautiful people of Budapest. We went for the massive platter which was more than enough for two and would have done for the three of us and was delicious. Atmosphere is relaxed and friendly as is the service. I don't normally advocate non-native cuisine on a holiday but this was well worth the visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    510
    102
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal on our last night in Budapest. Everything was perfect...great service from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. Food was amazing...and the portions were plentiful. Was quite warm inside...but there was outside seating (although I'm guessing you would have to reserve those as it was packed inside and out). Very highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank sunlight71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you Like Greek you'll Love this place”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The staff are very polite and very attentive, nothing is too much for them. The food is absolutely gorgeous and we couldn't fault a thing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithfam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything Perfect!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm living in Budapest, Hungary for a couple of years. I've been visiting restaurants (both expensive and cheap) looking for a full service, not the best; but a complete experience from start to finish! Until I visit the TAVERNA DIONYSOS!! Was the BEST experience I've had in Budapest so far. From the great smile in all the employees (waitress/waiter, cookers, owners) the nice way to serve and advise you in the moment that you of choosing, the fast response from the kitchen and their treatment at any moment. Of course that the food is very well selected and excellently prepared.
I felt very well cared and treated!!! 1.000% Recommended!! It is worth it every penny invested in this great restaurant.
Well done for the crew members and owners!! MARVELLOUS JOB!!
That is why I'll visit them for the fifth time already with family and friends!!
Cheers! Mariana-

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get the seafood”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This was quite a surprise for us. Very good and authentic Greek food, the best seafood we had during a month in Budapest, and they went the extra step to make us feel welcomed and special (roses for my wife and daughter on the way out, complimentary watermelon after the meal). Very interesting interior. Grilled seafood was amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionysos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taverna Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing