We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Dionysos

Taverna Dionysos
Ranked #27 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: A little Greece on the riverbank of the Danube... Dionysos moved to the Pest bank of the River Danube on New Year's Eve 1993 and has since delighted the dwellers of our city with delicacies of Greek cuisine and delicious wine of its vineyards. The air is filled with the fragrance of char-grilled meats and fishes, fresh-cut vegetables and crispy-baked home style bread. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere, diners chit-chat casually around the tables, which blends pleasantly into the melodies of Greek music playing in the background. It is good to be in this restaurant. The pampering feeling of authentic entertainment accompanies the guests from the moment they enter up until they leave. We hope you visit us soon so that we may entertain you for a few hours here in little Greece of Budapest!
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The best choice we made in Budapest! Even though we are Greek, I believe it's one of the best choices for really tasty food in Budapest! Great view of the Danube, nice decoration, delicious food and friendly staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danaemou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,360
    496
    100
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice food and pretty decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant looked so pretty and is typically greek. The food was very nice too. Service was excellent however the waiter brought my main course before I had finished my starter and instead of taking the main away again he just left it on the table where it went a little cold. Wasn't very impressed with that really. Apart from this, very nice place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Greek in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have celiac disease and had read about this restaurant. I had the chicken souvlaki, a twice baked potato and shredded tomatoes. Delicious. My waiter was totally helpful when he helped me decide on ouzo. Outstanding. The souvlaki just melted in my mouth and the potatoes had a very mild cheese on top. I can't recommend this enough. Very good Greek food and very good wait staff. Opa!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience Greece while in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent place to enjoy a relaxing meal. Excellent selection of hot and cold traditional greek dishes, and a good selection of wines. The staff are very friendly. Decor makes you feel that you are in Greece. I had lamb ribs that were marinated to perfection, the greek salad and dips was excellent. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Real Greek dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently visited this Greek restaurant located on the side of the river Danube, downtown, very close to the river.

This was our first - but definitely not the last - dinner here.

Food here is genuine greek, with lots of seafood, lamb and salads on the menu. After being escorted to our table, we got the menu and were left to choose. We orderd our drinks - some ordered wine, which was a great idea, as theye were really nice - and chose different fish dishes and placed our order. We received some starters (free, on the house) about 3 minutes later - this is a common thing here, as the place is usually packed and guest do have to wait a bit for their meals. We had a chat and soon afterwards we got our delicious fish plates, garnished with fresh, grilled vegetables. I have to say, for a country that has no sea nearby, the fish and prawn were actually fresh and grilled to a delicious state. After the meal we got a dessert - on the house, again - as we had to wait about 10 minutes for the bill to arrive. My girlfriend also got a flower from the waiters on our exit.

Cons:

- you do have to wait a bit, but freebies on the house help calm your apetite;
- it's quite expensive compared to other local restaurants, but it's for a reason: it's food is great;
- sometimes the charcoal smell from the grill may infuse your clothing, so go for the terrace

Pros:

- Food is truly delicious and authentic;
- Service is excellent;
- View from the terrace is great;
- It's located in walking distance from many downtown sights and hotels
- Did I mention that food is amazing and service is outstanding? :)

Overall I can strongly recommend this restaurant, it has authentic, fresh and high quality mediterranean food and wine selection. The sight from the terrace is awesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Balazs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionysos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taverna Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing