We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Indian cuisine in Terézváros” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #231 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Hungary, EUROPE
Level Contributor
346 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Superb Indian cuisine in Terézváros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

First time in Taj Mahal and I am enchanted :) The restaurant looks very nice, I like the decor and the atmosphere. Service is very good, and polite. We had some very good appetiser and two kind of chicken curries, daal makhani, some good naan, mango lassi. Everything was very tasty! Both quality and quantity is perfect, we were perfectly satisfied. The restaurant is not cheap, but it is definitely one of the top Indian restaurant in Budapest ! Hats off!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bl4ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    63
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still the best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I live in Delhi, which is the culinary capital but Taj Mahal in Budapest is giving a run to the many eatries even in Delhi. Best North Indian cuisine during my recent business visit, after two years. keep up the quality and thumbs up!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic Indian food, atmosphere and staff!!! From outside Wud never believe the jewel of a restaurant inside!!! One of the best indian restaurants I've eaten in

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hurrikane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We want more!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the best Indian restaurant that I have to in Europe. I went with 4 other Indian guys and they also raved about the food. Authentic, tasty and really good. Great efficient service with not a mistake on the order which was for 18 people.
The decor and atmosphere added to the experience. Will definitely be coming again.

Helpful?
Thank TopCat703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great indian food out of the central area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'm vegetarian and love Indian food. I spent a great dinner in Taj Mahal. It was a was very good experience.

Taj Mahal is a nice Indian restraurant in Budapest. It's a bit out of the central area but still easily accessible. It has an authentic athmosphere. The service is super nice. I had a business dinner here. Serving was great, the food was delicious. I recommend coming here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GaborTorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing