We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Basic Food, OK service”
Review of Rezkakas Bistro

Rezkakas Bistro
Ranked #88 of 3,116 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Basic Food, OK service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Budapest is still waiting for a great Hungarian restaurant that service authentic but updated Hungarian food of the highest quality. We were hoping Rezkakas was it, but it fell short of the mark. The food was good, but not great. The service was okay, but not memorable. One senses still a little Soviet-era attitude lurking in the shadows. The outdoor space is pleasant in the summer. Desserts are over-sweet. You could do a lot worse than this restaurant, but you can do better too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    342
    114
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday dinner”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We made reservations for dinner via the concierge at the Sofitel in Budapest. We dined there on August 20 which was a big Hungarian holiday and coincidentally my birthday. The service was perfect. Prices were very acceptable for a fine restaurant. The menu had a myriad number of choices of food and wine. And there were 3 musicians who serenaded us with classical music while we ate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZsoltForgo, Manager at Rezkakas Bistro, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear shelly w,

Thank you for your comments and thank you for celebrating with us.
I hope, see you next year as well!
We going to party with you again, the whole nation, my team and myself.
With my warmest regards,

Zsolt Forgo
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyomro, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food, good price”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

excellent food, the prices of the main courses are between 12 and 20 euro.good Hungarian gipsy music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZsoltForgo, Manager at Rezkakas Bistro, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Laszlo K,

Thank you for your kind feedback, you are always welcome at our restaurant.
I hope, we see you soon!
My kind regards,
Zsolt Forgo
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
275 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening with Great Food and Music”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I had dreamt of coming to Budapest and eating Goulash to the sound of violin music - and this restaurant delivered my dream. The food is traditional Hungarian and very good. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and very clean and attractive. The bathrooms are spotless ( always a challenge!) and the crisp white tablecloths finish off the comfort. The goulash soup was delicious and the music delivered by three excellent and friendly musicians completed the dream. My husband had the pork which he said was delicious, and my duck was tender and delicious also. The cold spinich salad with it was unusual for our palates, but very nice. The vanilla,parfait with apricot sauce was out out of this world, and my husband loved his floating island Hungarian style.

The staff were excellent, and recommended an excellent wine which was not expensive and just what we like. When my husband spilled goulash soup on his shirt, they ran to get hot water and a cloth for him. ,

Lovely restaurant. Will return if we ever come back to Budapest again. Romantic and traditional at such high quality without the touristy overkill.

Also, some trip advisors have commented about the 10% tip being added so diners will tip twice! This is rubbish, as the fact they automatically add this to the bill is mentioned very clearly on the website and on the menu in English! If you don't spot it you need glasses!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank paripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZsoltForgo, Manager at Rezkakas Bistro, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear paripatetic,

Thank you so much for your detailed review.
You just highlighted the most important facts of our place.
This is our mission, give guidance our clients in the word of the hungarian gastronomie.
And also to create a memorable evening for our guests.
Special thanks for mentioning the precise wine recommendation and this service charge issue.

Do not wait so long for your next visit!
See you again at the RÉZKAKAS BISTRO

My kindest regards,
Zsolt Forgo
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We loved it here so much we went two nights in a row. The best food we have had in over two weeks of traveling around Eastern Europe. The quality of food was excellent as well as the
preparation. The only drawback were the surly waiters ; I know its the culture, but sometimes
its over the top rudeness, especially during a fine dining experience. I would still highly recommend
the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megsnspales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZsoltForgo, Manager at Rezkakas Bistro, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear megsnspales,

Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you for the best Eastern European food expression.
Also thank you for your feedback on the serving, you can be sure, that I am going to take the necessary steps.
My kindest regards,
Zsolt Forgo
maneger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rezkakas Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rezkakas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing