We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing Tourist Trap”
Review of Rezkakas Bistro

Rezkakas Bistro
Ranked #93 of 3,237 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Depressing Tourist Trap”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The talented trio playing gypsy music made this almost a dinner theatre experience, which was fortunate because beyond the music we found Rezkakas to be pretentious, phony, and irritating. We asked for the wine list, waited, asked again, and realized they had only one or two lists for the whole restaurant. The reason for this became clear when the wine steward, rather than letting us look through the list and order as we liked, tried to talk us into some outrageously priced glasses. Shortly thereafter they sat a duo next to us who were quite obviously a prostitute and a john who before long could be overheard discussing prices and services. This was presumably a case of simple bad luck, but overall we found the service to be unfriendly and the meal to be overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    360
    123
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silsoe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hungarian food and music without the hype”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly, this restaurant ticked all the boxes. Six of us went there on a Saturday evening in search of a 'typical' Hungarian evening without the coach parties and hype. We were not disappointed. Staff are friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing and the environment is stylish but relaxed. The menu offered new twists on traditional dishes and some good vegetarian options. (I was told the chef would cook me something else if I didn't like the veggie meals on the menus). The icing on this very good Hungarian cake was Robert and his fellow musicians who played gypsy music as was the perfect background to a very special meal. At about £40 a head including wine, we felt Prices were what you would expect to pay for a good restaurant in England.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Small bistro with very tasty food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ate an early dinner here before taking a night train. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent. Traditional with a international twist. They also had a good wine selection. All three of us enjoyed our dinner. The service was prompt and the price was reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with music”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice restaurant, very easy to find in Sas utça. Good hungarian food and wine. Hungarian gypsy music with violin. I advise you to make a reservation because it's a very popular place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank anisodonte n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gypsy music accompanies very enjoyable Hungarian dining experience!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

On my first night in Budapest, I wanted some entertainment along with some good Hungarian cuisine!
I found it at the Razkakas restaurant. I ordered Chicken Paprikas which was served with noodles and a lovely paprika sauce, a small green salad ( ordered separately), a glass if Hungarian wine -suggested by my waiter and the evening dessert specialty- lime pie. The pie was light and not overly sweet. Basically a nice meal- not too heavy. The musicians were extremely talented and the atmosphere lovely. This is not a budget venue - but I feel the combination of live music and fine food in an easy to reach location, made this restaurant a pleasant experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiriYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rezkakas Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rezkakas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing