We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rezkakas Bistro

Rezkakas Bistro
Ranked #84 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Raalte, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Recommended by our hotel. A cozy and nice restaurant with traditional good food and nice music. Some of the staff could be more friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ganescha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    331
    110
    44
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good traditional hungarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff was very friendly and attentive to us and our daughter. Yes, the place is a little bit kitsch with the folk music band playing in the evening and is geared a bit towards tourists. The food is very traditional and we enjoyed the goulash. For simple traditional hungarian cuisine with a little bit of kitsch, its a pretty good place. We really enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delousions of Grandeur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recommended by the hotel...The Lady at front of house looked like she really couldn´t be bothered..very unfriendly... food moderate service average,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mafia.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

100% stupid tourist attraction, We strongly do not recommend you this attractive restaurant. If you are a food connoisseur or have a minimum of habitude on restaurant, you will see that, step by step everything is well organised to make you pay more and more. The place is pleasant. The staff is gentle in the beginning but rude after. This is probably due that main customers will finally live the restaurant with protests. If you have planned to pay 35-40 euro per person, you will pay 65euro or more. Our bill was 190 euro for 3 people.
We can see that the situation is common for them and they are ready for your protests.
If one dish is not bad, all rest is fake. Foie Gras is not Foie Gras and meet is…who knows ???... can’t see. They don’t have the wine you ask for but they kindly offer similar without tell in you that the price is double. They will not also tell you the price for an extra glass of wine 12 euro each.
But the worst is coming with the bill. When you read the menu before to enter, you will clearly understand that taxes and service are included on the prices. It is written: (Taxes and service are included on the bill). Once you ask for the bill, they will add these amounts on the bill). That is what they mean. Surprise??? They definitely know about the problem but they do not care if you feel abused.
We recommend the restaurant just adjacent the Borkonyha wine kitchen. More professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moumour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Good Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Found this place as we were walking back to our hotel from another really good restaurant on the same street called Cafe Kor. This place is a bit more upscale and I thought the food was a bit better. As others have stated the music was excellent the food is top notch and the prices are moderate. Staff is friendly, and service was good. I was surprised how good the Hungarian wines were. Beer is excellent too.

Helpful?
Thank Philipll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rezkakas Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rezkakas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing