We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Trattoria Pomo D'Oro
Ranked #65 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

A really busy restaurant with good food & friendly staff. We had black risotto & calamari & prawns but excellent. European prices city prices so dont expect cheap but worth the extra

Helpful?
Thank Gilliah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    450
    127
    56
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants of Budapest”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a long business lunch there so I made a reservation before as it is necessary in a trendy and usually crowded place like Pomo D'Oro. Got a good table in a calmer corner of the restaurant and very helpful, fast and professional service through our lunchtime. The courses were all delicious, really enjoyed the Minestrone and the grilled fresh calamari with spinach, too. Could choose from several nice Italian wines by the glass. Not only the quality but the pricing is above the Hungarian average there, payed around 27.000 HUF for a two person lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaborgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff not the most helpful!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate in the bistro part as the restaurant was full. I had the burgere which tasted great apart from the fact I had to send it back twice as it was completely raw. That is no exageration it was only seared on the grill and fell apart as soon as I picked it up. They admitted the mistake both times and I eventually got a cooked one which was perfectly pink in the middle. I would not go back as they didn't seem to really care that this had happened. Shame as we were recommended here by the locals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Service”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friendly atmosphere and good food. Extensive menu and wine list to choose from. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Pomo D'Oro and would happily recommend a visit here whilst you're in Budapest. There were two of us and we had a main meal and a bottle of wine for less than £40. The complimentary breads, oil and balsamic at the start added to the meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holiday111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ok Italian food. Bit overpriced though.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We ate in a good number of Italian restaurants during our stay in Budapest and we felt this was the least value for money. It is a nicely decorated restaurant. The food however was average and we felt the staff were a bit snobby. For what we got the price was high. There are a lot of other nice Italian restaurants in Budapest that wont leave your wallet as light.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milkjunkie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pomo D'Oro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trattoria Pomo D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing