We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cocktail bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oscar American Bar

Oscar American Bar
Ranked #2,302 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: There is no bar without HAPPY HOUR! :) In Our Bar You can be "Happy" for Hours... :) Every day from 17.00 To 20.00 If you order a Cocktail you'll get 2 for 1, and you've got the chance to try our Fabulous Burgers, Steaks or Duck. Chose from the broad selection of drinks, wines and coctails with the usual Oscar athmosphere.
Telford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cocktail bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Went for after dinner drinks. Located on edge of castle district. Great service, yummy cocktails and reasonable prices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horten, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

A quiet bar close to our hotel. Large manu, and serves food. I only enjoyed the beer, and the complimentary popcorn bowl.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank P1FF3N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best bars in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food was fantastic, the cocktails were amazing and the staff were just brilliant - definetly worth a visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Galwaybay_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice cocktail bar on Castle Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

A nice bar. We went for pre-dinner cocktails, which were cheap by any standards, yet they used Bombay Sapphire in the martini etc.

The bar is conveniently close to Castle Hill and Szell Kalman ter.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
301 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great food but not as described!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Not my usual choice to visit and American Bar/Pub/Restaurant in a foreign country but I went with friends who also have never been there.

Small, dark and quaint with the staff in classic black and white with ties, it did have the feel of a small midtown Manhattan establishment.

I order butter fish with Gnocchi and our friend ordered the steak with salad. My fish turned out to be Gnocchi with a bit of fish and her steak with salad turned out to be a salad with a bit of steak! My girlfriend ordered a steak with green pepper sauce, the meat looked almost boiled but was tasty. All in all the food was very good, the staff was "standoffish" but not rude.

They understood English but spoke only Hungarian becasue my grilfriend is Hungarian, I would ask a question and he would look at her and answer me...I guess he was embarrassed.

A cool little place that had a relaxing vibe where you can be a bit louder when laughing and no one looks at you.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar American Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Oscar American Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing