We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a way out and not up to scratch..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kehli

Kehli
Ranked #107 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Description: Located in the oldest part of Buda, this restaurant first opened in 1899. Enjoy traditional Hungarian cuisine and relax to live Gypsy music, except on Mondays.
Hinterbruhl, Austria
Level Contributor
547 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Quite a way out and not up to scratch..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's a bit of a hike up to Obuda but it came recommended so we went. It is an oasis in the middle of a concrete jungle - you can read up about the area if you are interested. It's an old family run restaurant, which is good and there were many local families celebrating there. The goulash soup was delicious as was the plate of Hungarian meat - bacon, ham, sausage with salad. The steamed venison with dumplings and a vegetable sauce came and was sent back as it was cold. Of course, it took a while to be prepared again and my appetite had gone - the sauce was not very nice and I would not recommend this dish to anyone. The waiter was most apologetic and the dish was removed from the bill. Still, it was a shame - and unnecessary.The atmosphere was good - the pancakes with a hazelnut filling and chocolate sauce, flamed in rum were very tasty. Perhaps we were just unlucky. The music was lively in parts but I wish they had played more Hungarian music and not O Sole Mio!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sissy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    219
    53
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Oh man, is this Hungarian!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ever since 1899, this restaurant has been a great place. Folks with a need to get the real thing will go for this kind of food, this kind of friendly service, this kind of meat, and if you ever are in Budapest and want to enjoy not the real local fish soup, the real local sausage and the real giulash, try to get a seat here. Only bad aspect: may be somewaht crowded and noisy. But then they serve the ultimate Hungarian thing to sip after a meal: Zwack Unicum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 975manrey975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Aquincum Hotel and this restaurant was literally 2 minutes walk away. We went there for the first time at around 4pm, we had a very nice waiter could speak excellent English and knew the answer to every question we asked, including specific questions about seasonings and how some dishes were cooked. The food is roughly 3000 HUF per dish, which is a reasonable price. We tried the most expensive dish which was just under 7000 HUF and was for 2 people. It had 3 different kinds of fish on the large triple dipped fish. With 2 of each fish which made it perfect for sharing. There was also lots of different sides on the dish, including rice, roast sliced potatoes, onion and others. It was absolutely delicious and I would definitely recommend it. We also ordered 3 soups, as we were 3 people. They were also very nice. But we must give particular attention to the soup that came inside a giant bun, which was new to us and very interesting. I don't quite remember what it was, either garlic or mushroom. You ate the soup, and then the outer bread afterwards, very innovative. After a fantastic meal we discovered that there is live music everyday after 8PM. So we came back the next day at 8PM. Our previous waiter recognised us and greeted us kindly. We ordered the same triple fish meal again as well as another fish dish, called something like 'fisherman's pisto'. We are Muslim and so can't have any meat. Even though we were restricted to fish, the fish dishes here were excellent and definitely recommendable. The live music was also very good. They all seemed very jolly and looked like they loved their job, which made us happy too. They also did requests as demonstrated by singing someone a special birthday song in English. As others have said, there is a 10 percent service charge included on the bill. All in all, a brilliant restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Legacyb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a pleasant step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A pleasant step back in time. Food very good and certainly hearty! I was a bit apprehensive because of an earlier negative review but I found the staff very friendly and the whole experience was positive. Would certainly go back. Beautiful fillet steak perfectly cooked with masses of veggies -- £12.

We like the music too -- a bit cheesy but good fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scottishjourno26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Being of Hungarian origin, but living in the UK, I really missed the flavours of home. So when we went back to Budapest for a week for my 40th birthday, I made an extensive research and asked some friends about places to go.

I then settled for the Kehli, recommended by my uncle, who lives in the area. It was one of the best decisions I ever made! From start to finish, an amazing experience, old fashioned, elegant, but friendly and relaxed service, fantastic decor in a historic building. First thing first, you do not go to hand in your coat, a lovely lady collects the coats from the table and brings them back at the end of the meal. We were seated in the old coach entry area, with cobbled floors, it was beautiful. The service was top quality and the food was out of this world. Hungarian meat platter starter, then mutton stew for me, cheese platter at the end, no words to describe. We had a table of six every dish was just great. We had the house white wine, which was good and lots of palinka offered by a very knowledgeable lady.

I cannot wait to get back there and I would recommend the place friend of mine and also to visitors to Budapest, as it is a really authentic dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kehli also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kehli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing