We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hungarian food in a beautiful setting”

Karpatia Restaurant & Brasserie
Ranked #202 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hungarian food in a beautiful setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food was good but not outstanding. Typical Hungarian dishes in a beautiful, old-world style room. The live Gypsy music contributed to the atmosphere. I think every person there was a tourist. I'm glad we went, but would choose another place next time. Service was very good. No complaints; I knew it catered to the tourist trade when I booked it.

One suggestion: dimming the lights would really add to the charming atmosphere. They were way too bright.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    348
    137
    69
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the best restaurant that I was in in Budapest. Beautiful old world decor - The gypsy music was wonderful . The food and service was great and certainly not over priced. It is a must for anyone visiting Budapest .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old world Classical Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are looking for a fine restaurant that has been around for over one hundred years with stained glass, beautifully decorated carved wooden booths, and outstanding Hungarian specialties this is the place. Add Gypsy music and excellent service by professional waiters. There were seven of us around a well dressed table with all the above. Goulash soup, Foie Gras, pheasant stuffed with foie gras, veal specialties and gourmet desserts all made our evening very special. The best thing was that the restaurant was only 5 minutes walk from the center of town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Touristy and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Given all the good options in Budapest, I would not waste my time on this place. Yes, the architecture in interesting and it has a lot of Hungarian specialties, but it is tired food of mediocre quality. There are much better options to experience Hungarian music as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go there for a nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant offered excellent food, nice atmosphere, live music and very good service. It wasn't very cheap, but it's worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reija_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karpatia Restaurant & Brasserie also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Karpatia Restaurant & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing