We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Most Memorable Four Seasons Experience”

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 10/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #114 of 3,761 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Having traveled to many of the Four Seasons properties, I will have to say that this was not the most memorable (unlike Florence). The service was pretty average given that the restaurant was mostly empty for dinner at around 7pm on a Wednesday. The food was mostly average by Four Seasons standards and I actually had difficulty remembering that I ordered the prawns when asked later in the bar by the manager. The lamb shank was well prepared and the onion soup was quite good. We sampled two deserts and found the Grand Marnier parfait to be quite interesting. The chocolate souffle...not so much.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnK_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 417 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were tired from a long day that started at 4:00 a.m. We are staying at the hotel, the Four Seasons, so we stayed in for dinner. What a great choice!

They gave us bread with duck rillette, and also a cream cheese type spread. Then my husband had the lamb sausages, which were delicious, and I had crisp leg of duck, which was fantastic. We had Sauska Hungarian wine with it and then their signature dessert, the French toast with strawberry ice cream and fresh strawberries. Yum! Every bite was great!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Austinangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

I was there twice during my stay in Budapest, and that was such a delight. The waiter and waitress were very professional and friendly, and the food were on the same level. I highly recommend the duck leg or duck breast - they are so delicious that beyond the description!!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Morning1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Went here august 20 so they had a special menu and it was awesome. We had 3 course, the servings were bigger than expected for such a fancy place and the food was super memorable. The meat was perfect, flavours were strong and desert was beautiful and delicious. Absolutely recommend. Service was impeccable

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Jessica F.,

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate St. Steven's Day with us in Kollázs and tried our special festive menu created for this occasion. We are proud to learn from you that Chef Arpad Gyorffy and his team managed to create a unique experience and extended an impeccable service.

It was also a great pleasure to read that every single course we served was amazingly delicious and well-presented.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Went there for a Saturday-breakfast after a tiring week. We loved everything that was served on our table : freshly pressed juice, coffee, royal boiled eggs and waffles. We received an outstanding service, starting with the smiling staff at the entrance and ending with our very attentive waiter. Excellent quality and variety of food, lovely interior and ambience, beautiful view makes this place worth visiting again and again. Highly recommended! :)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank kristin_nikolaevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

It is great to learn that after a busy week you have selected our KOLLÁZS Brasserie & Bar to enjoy a relaying Saturday morning breakfast with us. We are delighted to read that your experience was so memorable that even prompted you to write a review on our Tripadvisor public website.

Thank you for highlighting how much you enjoyed the ambiance of our outlet, the variety and the fresh quality of the food as well as the attentive service you received from our staff.

It is wonderful that we were able to exceed your expectations in terms of quality and service.

We hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.