We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #118 of 3,755 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Excellent food and service. Lovely ambience, great furnishings, loved the sprawling layout. Outside seating areas comfortable. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank Jacqueline796
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2015

Thank you for your kind words about the service, the ambiance and the outside seating at Kollazs.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 609 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2015

I would suggest having a drink and this very nice bar. The bill doesn't add up that much considering your are at a 4 seasons. Watch that your bill includes a service charge because if you ask about tipping to the bar tenders they tell you 10% would be nice. Meaning we have no problem with 22.5% if you catch it... Nice Drinks, Good Staff, Good Place just watch for any tricky service charges.

Date of visit: July 2015
3  Thank bryanw314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2015

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our bar in Kollazs and that you found that you received great value. Your comments regarding the service charge were well noted and I will follow up personally.

Best regards,
Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

The food was excellent and the service as well, combined with a quite luxurious atmosphere and low prices in comparison with an average budget restaurant in western Europe.

Date of visit: July 2015
2  Thank 519carlosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Thank you for your feedback, I am very glad that you enjoyed your meal and that you felt the value Kollazs provided was good.
We hope to see you again in Kollazs.

Sincerely,
Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015

The Four Seasons finest bar i would say in the whole of europe.....The Selection of Wines and the Cocktails are Quite Creative creating the finest experiences for your Vocation....

Date of visit: June 2015
2  Thank Shivangmahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

I would like to thank you for your kind feedback, we are honored that you found our wine and cocktail selection outstanding.
We hope that you will have the opportunity to return and sample some more of our fine wines in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

But this place is spectacular!! Great location looking across the bridge into Buda. Inside and outside dining. Fantastic food!! And the service? Unbelievable! It's been so great we have decided to celebrate my 55th birthday here and fly all the kids and families over!!

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your Kollazs experience.
We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your 55th!

Best regards,
Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.