We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Smooth”

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #118 of 3,755 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

The service keeps exceeding my expectations, the sommelier's wine pairings are just outstanding. The 'octopus & scallop' is definitely a must try. Don't miss out on the terrine and the raspberry soup either. Cozy atmosphere and lovely staff.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kingagisele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

It is great that your recent dining experience in KOLLÁZS Brasserie & Bar prompted you to write a review on our Tripadvisor public website.

I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your whole experience; highlighting the taste and the quality of the Octopus & Scallop, Foie Gras Terrine, Raspberry Soup dessert and especially the wine recommendations made by our sommelier matching your meal.

It is wonderful that we were able to exceed your expectations in terms of quality and service.

We hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

I had an amazing time with my friends here! The service is excellent and the food is among the best in town. I love that the staff is so helpful and attentive. The sommelier has a world class level and the chef is very innovative. The menu is mixes international favorites with hungarian touches, just perfect! I recommend it for families, friends, and couples. Bravo!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Annapeterbreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

I appreciated your thoughtful feedback posted on Tripadvisor recently in relation to your dining experience in our KOLLÁZS Brasserie & Bar.

It is most gratifying to read your praise of the innovative menu put together by Árpád Győrffy, our Restaurant Chef and the top class service you received from Mátyás Szík, our Sommelier.
I can assure you that there is nothing more motivating for them than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back anytime in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Having proposed to my girlfriend before eating out go celebrate this ended up being the perfect venue. The staff were wonderfully attentive and the food lovely.

We went straight to main course. I had the beef tenderloin in mushroom sauce while my fiancé had chicken in mushroom sauce. Both were cooked exquisitely. After ample Prosecco, we moved onto dessert where I had the chocolate tart and my fiancé the raspberry soup. When the tart came out the staff told us this was complementary to say congratulations to us, which was a really lovely touch. Unfortunately I began to eat it before spotting the message on the plate (photo attached).

A perfect day made better by this wonderful restaurant. Thank - you.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank HHnodashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Thank you for sharing your most positive comments on Trip Advisor following your recent celebration dinner in our KOLLÁZS Brasserie & Bar.

We are grateful that you selected our hotel’s restaurant for such special occasion, celebrating your engagement. We really appreciate your trust and confidence in our service and location for this unique celebration. We are also very proud of our employees who work hard to ensure our guests receive a memorable Four Seasons Experience, and your account of their professionalism is evidence of our belief.

Congratulations on your engagement!

Yours sincerely,


Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

to my mind this gem can receive the next Michelin star in Budapest. Outstanding service, very nice interior, top terrace, excellent menu, price/value ratio great. nothing to add, but to state that this restaurant has become one of my true favorites.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank austrianhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

It is great to learn that you stopped by at our hotel’s KOLLÁZS Brasserie & Bar for lunch recently.
I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your whole experience. Our goal is to impress and offer something special to all our valued guests and clients and it is wonderful to learn that we succeeded in your case.

Thank you for your business and patronage and we look forward seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

From walking into the breathtakingingly beautiful Gresham Palace hotel to being seated and tasting the delicious food, we found that everything was seamless and wonderful. Despite having no reservation we were greeted at the door with a warm and welcoming smile and seated at a great table. Service was perfect, very friendly but not overly imposing. Recommendations were good and food was delivered to an excellent standard. We had the bone marrow and the foie gras to start and then the beef short rib and ox cheeks for main. No room for dessert as we were absolutely stuffed. For drinks my partner sampled a few of the beers and I had the coffee cocktail which was superb.
For the level of dining we would say that it was a total bargain compared to that of a restaurant of this standard in London.
Must try.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charmaineluvsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

I was delighted to note that you had such a surprisingly positive impression of our hotel’s Kollázs Brasserie & Bar.
Thank you so much for your praising words! I am extremely happy to note that you had a truly memorable dining experience recently and you enjoyed various dishes created by our Restaurant Chef, Árpád Győrffy, based on high quality local produce.

It will be my pleasure to share your praising words about the service with our restaurant team, who based on your feedback, did their best to ensure your satisfaction, providing you a friendly and thoughtful service.

We hope you would keep returning to us!

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.