We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats all of the places we've ate”

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #29 of 3,378 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $47
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I know I am grammatically incorrect but we had breakfast and we were very happy, and the prices were crazy compared to what we pay in the States but we are tourists and loved being pampered. Above all the Service was great very attentive and the coffee was almost American which we like, The omlette was too cooked and that was my fault for not asking them to not overcook. The fruits were good bread excellent and watch out for the whipped cream, its like whipped cream with no sugar but salt and spice I don't know if it was paprika but it was spicy. Our grandkids didn't like the waffles or the pancakes so I liked it. The eggs have a tendency to be well cooked if you like runny sunnyside up. You pay for luxury.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your praising feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed every minute of your breakfast experience with your family in our Gresham Restaurant. Although we noted that maybe your omelette was a bit overcooked for your taste and I am sorry we did not know that in advance to have it prepared for you the way you like; your grandchildren did not favour our whipped cream, the waffles and the pancakes as much as yourself, nevertheless overall you were impressed with the quality of our food and service and all your family including yourself felt pampered and well taken care of.

We look forward to the pleasure of having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 534 of 944 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is one of the best restaurant experinces i ever had, this chef really deserve a michellin star ;) And the staff was just as amazing as the food. 5 stars frome me :)

1  Thank diter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your generous feedback regarding your recent dining experience at our hotel’s Gresham Restaurant. I was glad to learn from you that we were able to provide an up to par service, which was really memorable one.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

champagne tea at Gresham( four seasons hotel) near chain bridge,lovely piano playing while sipping tea/fizz yummy.

1  Thank sandione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I was delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy a pleasant Herend Afternoon Tea experience in our hotel’s lobby lounge accompanied by nice piano music recently.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future to our hotel or to any of our outlets.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

There is a lot to like about the Gresham restaurant especially if you have been to other restaurants around the city. When you enter the palace restaurant you quickly notice how elegant and beautiful it is. Upon entering the staff were both professional and friendly and gave us time to decide where we wanted to be seated. We wanted to be seated outside in the lovely small terrace over looking the square and Danube but were worried about the rain. As it was Sunday my partner and I chose the Merkato a sort of Sunday Brunch. The variety is great and the food not only looks but tastes exquisite. We enjoyed our lunch and hope to try the steak night as the prices are not high as you would expect. All in all, the Gresham is one of the finest dinning experiences in this Beautiful city.

1  Thank nermin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the elegant atmosphere and level of service in our Gresham Restaurant recently. It is great that you decided to try and really enjoyed our ‘Mercato Italiano’ Sunday Brunch.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for either a great steak night dinner or any other dining option at the Gresham and hopefully on the next occasion you would still be able to enjoy a pleasant whether outside on our terrace overlooking the Danube and the Széchenyi Square.

Thank you again for recommending our restaurant and hopefully we will have the chance to be at your service in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great service, wonderful food in a venue that is unmatched in the region and perhaps even beyond. Spend an extra few euros and experience this wonderful restaurant.

1  Thank Dreyfus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I was delighted to note that you had such a wonderful dining experience in our Gresham Restaurant, that prompted you to post a praising feedback on our Tripadvisor public website a couple of days ago. It is a great feeling that we managed to impress you with our special atmosphere, as well as with the quality of our food and service.

We would be thrilled to have you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing