We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #35 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $46
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We regurly go to Hungary,about 3 times a year,and we have bin all over the country by now in the last ten years but we often go to Budapest too and there one of our favorite places is Gresham. Yes,it is more expencive than elswere but what you recive in food and service is top!
In the kaveház you can enjoy coffee and wonderful cackes and don't forget to check out the wines!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jos v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    140
    50
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very touristy, staff rushed and difficult to place an order and get your bill. Coffee is OK and confectionary good, but highly over priced and over rated

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquesde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Setting”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful restaurant, exceptional location, exemplary service from front desk to housekeeping. I do not see how anyone could be disappointed in this hotel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwitherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gresham Restaurant Four Season”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Amazing meal in the stunning hotel. some of hte best food we have ever eaten and the service was just as good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 338BethA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Best meal in Budapest!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were recommended this hotel / restaurant by someone who works for British Airways. Although we were staying elsewhere (the rather mediocre Boscolo), we came here for dinner on our last night. The food, ambience and - above all - service was impeccable.

The location was fabulous (right opposite the castle, on the bank of the Danube). The staff went to extraordinary lengths to make us feel at home, including offering us a selection of hors d'oeuvres (as we couldn't make up our minds which to choose - they all sounded fantastic), recommending a very good (and reasonably-priced) bottle of wine, and giving us for free a second dessert (when we couldn't choose between two chocolate choices! - by the way both of them were absolutely delicious).

The meal was not cheap (€193 between three of us), but that was for three courses and a very nice bottle of wine and includes the 10% tip. Considering the other meals we had in Budapest were so awful (including off food which made two of us sick at the Boscolo New York restaurant - stay far away from there!!!), and the fact it was my last night in Budapest, it was definitely worth it.

I regret not staying in the hotel. The lobby of the hotel is magnificent, both in terms of architectural style and in terms of decor (the Boscolo lacks the latter).

I'd really recommend you go there. Look out for the very tall tanned waiter. He's great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dYquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing