We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and excellent pasta dishes”
Review of Fausto's Osteria

Fausto's Osteria
Ranked #143 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Paris France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent pasta dishes”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled upon Osteria by complete chance whilst looking for a restaurant quite late at night. I was entertaining 8 clients and was losing hope when we came across this charming modern restaurant. The head serveur was most welcoming indeed, he spoke great English and found us a spacious table which was perfect for our party. It was late, we took our time to order and the man was very patient indeed.

If you like liver then go for the goose liver starter, otherwise we choose the pasta with veal for the main it was superb. My clients were Parisian, often quite picky and even they found the meal to be to their liking. The wine was also good and the only complaint came after ordering the tiramasu, but to be fair the waiter told us that he had to put it together as the chef had already gone home!

Definitely worth visiting for a pleasant meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanParis1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    64
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Only average for us”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After visiting the Great Synagogue, we were excited to see that Fausto's Osteria was right down the block. We had read all the fabulous reviews and quickly decided that would be our lunch spot. It is a lovely restaurant with excellent service, but to say the food is some of the best in Budapest seems like a bit of an overstatement. Granted, we did not have any pasta dishes, which seem to receive most of the praise, but I had the fish special and my husband had the beef and it was good...but just good....certainly nothing to warrant the bill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bog1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super-osteria!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A great place to eat pasta!
Super-pumpkin-soup!
Nice, cosy and very hospitable atmoshere. We've visited the restaurant in february, but still remember how delicious it was there....) Thank you!)))

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlgaVladimirovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The good reviews were right!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

All I can say is that 60+ Excellent reviews proved right in the case of this outstanding restaurant. The food was outstanding-the service superb and the price was good for the service received. We had Tagilatlle with Scallops and Pork Medallions-along with an excellent Antipasti of grilled Mozarella in Ham on a Salad. Excellent flavor.

I am usually nervous about asking the waiter to recommend a wine-but we wanted to try a good Hungarian one. The waiter did not try to up sell us-and made a great recommendation. Two people, two meals, two antipasti -and a bottle of wine, we got out the door for 75 US dollars. Considering this is a top rated restaurant in Hungary, I thought that was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mec542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediterranian delight”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

great location, very good chef - and the UNFORGETTABLE fish soup, ohh...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zoltan_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fausto's Osteria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fausto's Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing