We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef's Who Try Harder”

Alabardos Restaurant
Ranked #209 of 3,089 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Chef's Who Try Harder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My partner is vegetarian and we have many experiences of supposedly "good" restaurants where the chef is unable to provide even basic vegetarian options. I can happily report that Alabardos went out of their way to satisfy. A full 4/5 course vegetarian dinner option, impeccably presented. Very old-school yet warm and friendly restaurant. Live guitar music over dinner a perfect backdrop. And you must ask to see the "Bible".

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    72
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We really couldn't fault this restaurant. The service was second to none - very helpful, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The cuisine is nothing less than exquisite.. the meal will go down as one of the best we have ever enjoyed anywhere. We were wonderfully serenaded by a guitarist who played very gently and soothingly in the background. The dining area is intimate and luxurious. This is an expensive restaurant by Hungarian standards, but compared with quality restaurants in other world cities, it is reasonably priced. This is a truly special place, and an ideal one in which to mark a special occasion.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
362 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Elegant, creative, intimate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

In a cosy upmarket atmosphere, tables are impeccably set with elegant china and silver flatware so that guests feel unique. From the arrival in the restaurant until you leave, there is a pleasant feeling of being pampered, without the service ever being obsequious.

The restaurant gives a choice between 4 different set-menus or you can also order à la carte. Though on the higher end for Budapest, prices are reasonable in comparison with West European capitals, with all main courses under €20. The execution exceeded our expectations. By far. Unusual side-tastes impressed our taste buds… Try it for yourself! My friend had the vegetarian menu –quite a challenge– and he was conquered also. Portions could be considered on the smaller side, but the point is to have a 4 or 5 course meal to try out the different skills of the chef, so they are just perfect the way they are.

Definitely one of the better restaurants in Budapest. Whether for a special evening between friends, a business meal or a romantic dinner, you will impress your guests at Alabardos! As far as I am concerned, it was my first time there, and I will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hungarian fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hearty traditional local foods. Menus with english discriptions. Dinner for 2 with appitizers and wine ~$70US. Too much food to eat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We ate here on a quiet Saturday night, and booked in advance. The person we emailed to make the reservation was very polite and accommodating, and when we arrived we were given a great table. The food and service were on par with the best London restaurants, the sommelier was also very good. The restaurant itself was very relaxing and elegant, and the service was perfectly attentive. I have no complaints about Alabardos, and would happily eat here again. During the entire meal I felt welcome and catered to, and I would happily have paid double for the meal!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabardos Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Alabardos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing