We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hungarian Cuisine”
Review of Rosenstein

Rosenstein
Ranked #62 of 3,242 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Hungarian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "The cozy place, where the owner is the chef"
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hungarian Cuisine”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A real find.. near the train station. Very high-quality food and service. Photos of American film stars who agree!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    183
    45
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best food out whole trip!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We traveled here in 2009 and I still have not forgotten how fabulous the food is! I had a steak with a bread crumb crust stuffed with goat cheese. To this day every time I think of that dish my mouth waters. It is out of the way but that only adds to the charm

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wishyouwerehere2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Away from the center of town”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

As part of a tour group, we had dinner at Rosenstein. Since we were staying on the Danube near the center of Pest, it was a twenty minute busride. While it was OK, we could have done better near our hotel off the main square.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Jewish kitchen”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you don't mind going a bit far from the city center to have traditional Jewish food, this is a place you can have it.

Helpful?
Thank Laszlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and warm service”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our hotel (Hotel Bristol) recommended this restaurant. We wanted someplace nearby because of jet lag, etc. Anyway, it's not much to look at from the outside, but when you enter you sense that this could be something special. AND, it was absolutely that and more. The menu was a delight to read, with many Hungarian and Jewish specialities, plus a nice wine list of Hungarian wines. We died with delight on the escargots with Hungarian cheese.... then the sauteed goose foie gras with red wine sauce.... this was three large slices of foie gras, perfectly prepared and served over a perfectly roasted slice of potato with ample amounts of sauce garnished with sweet grapes. Incredible. Dessert was two scoops of ice cream: Plum and rasberry. This meal was so superb that we've already reserved a table for the weekend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrielphiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosenstein also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rosenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing