We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, crowded place”
Review of Cafe Kor

Cafe Kor
Ranked #121 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
cologne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, crowded place”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The food was excellent- Reservations are needed at any time! The place is packed and some tables are not very well placed. Service is nice but not overly ambitioned. I would recommend this for a casual dinner, but not for the last night in town!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank blondieCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    526
    153
    53
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Plastic Laminated Menu, Paper Napkin”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

In the US, this would be your 14th best "tap room" in the small city you are visiting. I would not call it a restaurant; rather it is more like a bar that serves "grub." If this merits any "stars", then Guide Michelin would give three to Chili's.

Helpful?
Thank Dodger29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Hungarian Dishes”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We knew about this restaurant because it was indicated by the owner of the B&B we were staying as one of the best places in Budapest to get local food. It was the place he and his family use to go when they are in the mood for Hungarian dishes. Of course, with this indication we went there with quite high expectations. And we didn't dissapoint ourselves. At all. I had a duck prepared in the traditional local way and it was extremely tasty and not dry at all (my biggest fear when I order duck). My wife asked for something more, let's say, international. She had then a chicken which she told me was very good indeed. You will find both kind of food there: traditional local ones and a more common international one. Chose what you like best. I guarantee you will have a great experience whatever choice you make.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Best vegetarian Hungarian food in Budapest!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Located at the heart of Budapest (Pest), this restaurant was a wonderful find. It serves great Hungarian food and has very few vegetarian options but they are mind blowing (probably the best in Budapest). For example, I had the traditional cold cherry soup and mix-fruit soup at a lot of restaurants in Budapest but the mix-fruit soup at Cafe Kor was the best. Some dishes including a few rice & noodle preparations can be made without meat on request and are equally amazing. Although we were lucky to get a table without reserving one, the Cafe gets crowded very soon as it is popular among tourists as well as locals. Therefore, we would recommend that you reserve the table in advance.Great Hungarian food and service, this is definitely one of the best restaurants in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripti_Chouhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food with great value”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I must say the waitresses are pretty and the waiters are good looking!

They have special menu daily. And they are all delicious. My favourite is the duck meat which is not dry at all. For Asian travellers, this restaurant service rice too! The Reindeer meat is a must try too!

The restaurant is small and full of customers. Do come early as you may need to wait for at least 30mins. Just walk further down the St Stephen Basilica for a great meal with good money value!

We tried another restaurant, the food was bad and it was very expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kor also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Kor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing