We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I love Szimpla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Ranked #1 of 169 Nightlife in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dive deep in Budapest’s unique nightlife, go to Kazinczy Street! It is not an accident that it’s also called the Street of Culture, Kazinczy street offers the greatest variety of touristic highlights, the most famous ruinbar, fine dining and the highest quality Kosher restaurants, the most colorful streetfood in Budapest. Under 14. Kazinczy street you can find the pioneer of all; the first ruinbar: Szimpla Kert. Here you will find an uncomparable atmosphere, fine food and drinks, cultural events like movie projections, live music concerts every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, a free jam session on Sundays, farmers’ market on Sunday mornings and many more. Szimpla Kert welcomes you all day with breakfast, lunch and dinner offers, beautiful garden, interesting objects and people. It’s always full of life, especially in the evening, it turns into an international meeting point.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love Szimpla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I came here back. I was here as a student 5 years ago and the place is still amazing
Sharing my memoris with my school fruwnds. Highly recommended. I love the athosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmina T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,528
    708
    112
    36
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really interesting bar with a great atmosphere - go and explore all the rooms & spaces as there are so many!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loubylou51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must in Budapest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I like beer, bars / pubs and crazy, curious things.
Szimpla Kert is a ruin bar that has all the above. There are a number of things hanging on the wall and a chessboard with several buttons that make crazy things anytime you press them.
You can rent shishas with different recipes and upstairs there's something to eat. There's some sort of pizza or sandwich that is good to stuff (it worth if you are planning to have some Palinkas).
Definitely, it worth the visit!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Intini170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice. Not as much as i expected. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I have read some very good reviews for this place so we went there. The truth is that i thought it would be better than it really was. However, it would be a lie if i said that i did not enjoy it. Nice enviriment, a little bit expencive. Nice music. Many rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Chrysanthemums
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I came here with my friend and host, Ezster, whom I had met 2 yrs earlier in at the Ecumenical Community of Taize in the French Countryside. Also with us were her flatmate, Andre, and his girlfriend visiting from Paris. It was a remarkable place. The ruin pubs are really something special, and this is the king of them all. You simply have to experience them, as there is no way to describe the eclectic, even madcap, atmosphere. Nothing in the world like this. It is part of what made Budapest my favorite city in Europe. Go with friends, or go to make friends, or both.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jdgering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing