We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shoreditch in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Ranked #1 of 175 Nightlife in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dive deep in Budapest’s unique nightlife, go to Kazinczy Street! It is not an accident that it’s also called the Street of Culture, Kazinczy street offers the greatest variety of touristic highlights, the most famous ruinbar, fine dining and the highest quality Kosher restaurants, the most colorful streetfood in Budapest. Under 14. Kazinczy street you can find the pioneer of all; the first ruinbar: Szimpla Kert. Here you will find an uncomparable atmosphere, fine food and drinks, cultural events like movie projections, live music concerts every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, a free jam session on Sundays, farmers’ market on Sunday mornings and many more. Szimpla Kert welcomes you all day with breakfast, lunch and dinner offers, beautiful garden, interesting objects and people. It’s always full of life, especially in the evening, it turns into an international meeting point.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Shoreditch in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Has that bohemian quirky thing going on. Tucked away in the Jewish quarter we stumbled on by mistake and walked into the cavernous entrance. Making our way through this dark inside pub we settled outdoors in a great little courtyard. Drinks are marginally more than elsewhere but its a superb place to go for a few drinks and take in one of the more interesting drinking holes you'll ever be in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,010
    833
    134
    41
    59
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“like in a movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love the design of this place, or perhaps lack of it. It is a bit like beeing in a some kind of a place in a Blade runner movie. Fun place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HDJons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Words wouldn't do this place justice. Szimpla is the best bar I've been to hands down. We put together our own pub crawl and had Szimpla kert as our last stop which worked out perfectly since we definitely spent the most time there. Cheap drinks and food with an amazing atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Different, Great Fun and Cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had read about this in the top 10 Things to do in Budapest. We went early evening before dinner. We had never seen anything like this before. What a great atmosphere. Large open courtyard with all sorts of things hanging from steel poles etc. lamp shades swinging and bicycles hanging in the air etc etc etc. Several little bar areas and great selection of drinks and cheap. We stayed here about one hour and started talking to a few people near us. It was a very friendly place. There were many young people, tourists, and even elderly (like us). Great place. Don't miss it. You will enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very unique and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was hesistant at first to visit this place as I thought it was a tourist trap of some sort. Although it is filled with young tourists, there is quite nothing like it that I have ever seen or experienced. Yes it is a bar but it's definitely much more than that. It is extremely appealing visually and mentally and has a very unique atmosphere it creates while being able to enjoy some drinks and some amazing music. It definitely is worth the visit and we met some great people at this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing