We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“One of the best bars in the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Ranked #1 of 158 Nightlife in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dive deep in Budapest’s unique nightlife, go to Kazinczy Street! It is not an accident that it’s also called the Street of Culture, Kazinczy street offers the greatest variety of touristic highlights, the most famous ruinbar, fine dining and the highest quality Kosher restaurants, the most colorful streetfood in Budapest. Under 14. Kazinczy street you can find the pioneer of all; the first ruinbar: Szimpla Kert. Here you will find an uncomparable atmosphere, fine food and drinks, cultural events like movie projections, live music concerts every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, a free jam session on Sundays, farmers’ market on Sunday mornings and many more. Szimpla Kert welcomes you all day with breakfast, lunch and dinner offers, beautiful garden, interesting objects and people. It’s always full of life, especially in the evening, it turns into an international meeting point.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Halmstad, Sverige
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best bars in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is not much to dislike in Szimpla. A lot of fun people, reasonable prices, very good atmosphere, different interiour and again, lot of fun.
They play all kind of music, so everybody gets to listen to some favourite during the night. It seems that they close up when people leave :) have been there a few times, until very late hours, but never saw them close.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koppany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,202
    609
    85
    33
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
1 review
“Great fun and cheap place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Always full of people , very nice atmosphere , intresting design
Alcohol price is very fair! Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went one afternoon after seeing it in a guide book. It was so indescribably different that we went back on the following 2 nights when the place was absolutely buzzing. Vast choice of drinks at reasonable prices, Shisha too and carrots!!! All age groups present from teens to oldies (like me). Excellent music, not too loud so you could actually have conversation without shouting. Do not go to Budapest without seeing this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 165andrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Do not leave Budapest with out going here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place deserves more than 5*! totally unique and has an amazing atmosphere, wasn't ridiculously priced either! we had that much fun we went out of our way to go every night of our trip! there was a great mix of people couples, backpackers, groups, young, old ect! just make sure you try to see allllll of the bar its massive! oh and ladies there is only ONE set of toilets that has proper seats (all the rest are holes in the group which aren't great when you've had a few), its downstairs and the one to the right (they are both next to each other) :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alsilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England/Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I love Szimpla but the bald bar man is so rude!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular customer of Szimpla since 2007. The staff are usually so great. However, I went there yesterday and we had the rudest batman ever. He was the bald man at the bar on the left as soon as you come in. He insulted me for attempting to speak hungarian and then when I spoke in English, he didn't understand what I was saying and he said 'it was time I recognised I was in a different country.' Ok - I tried speaking to you in hungarian and you didn't like it and I have a hungarian wife, so don't try telling me that. Hopefully this was a one off!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank JAL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing