We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful craft beer bistro and cafe”
Review of Hunyadi Homebistro

Hunyadi Homebistro
Ranked #749 of 3,884 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Hungarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: Hunyadi Lakasbisztro (tr.: Hunyadi Homebistro) is a fresh bar in the heart of district I, the quarter of the beautiful Buda Castle. Its management's aim is to settle a special venue for those who want to see the best of the rising Hungarian craft beer movement. Our wide assortment should satisfy every beer-epicure from starter to "professional"... With 4, always changing types of beer on tap and more than 30 in bottle, Hunyadi Lakasbisztro will never let you down with its unique, cozy, appartment-like atmosphere and delicious Hungarian "beer-skate" bites.
Reviewed March 30, 2015 via mobile

Hunyadi Lakasbisztro Es kezmuves sorozo (Hunyadi apartment bistro and craft beer parlour) to give it its English name is a fantastic cafe located in the castle district of Budapest.The cafe is under new management and is dedicated to high quality Hungarian craft beer (Bigfoot and Hedon to name but 2) on tap and in bottle.As you walk in to cafe the pub side of the cafe is on left side of main hall the restaurant is on the right the cafe is very cosy.When here we had some craft Hungarian beer from tap in perfect condition a must go when in this part of Budapest.To get here it is a 5 minute walk from Chain bridge.Come off Chain bridge and look for Hunyadi Janos utca walk up hill a bit and you will come to this picturesque cafe set in the Castle district of Budapest.
Opening hours are.
Monday-closed
Tuesday-Friday-16.00-22.00
Saturday-Sunday-12.00-22.00
Nearest metro or tram.
Tram-Clark Adam ter-19-41 (under construction ) there is a replacement bus service

1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2015

This sort of ,at first glance,normal cafe is truely a gem in this part of town,very close to our hotel we were just walking around, taking in the sight's and the like when we popped in here for a coffee.
The coffee in here is just superb,aromatic and prepared and presented to perfection, it was then that we saw the craft beer's on offer from breweries, some we knew, many we were unfamiliar with.
We tryed a couple of bottled craft beer's, superb as was the price and turned into what should have been a quick coffee break into a minor beer session.
Staff were very nice as was the whole experience in this wonderful cafe,one we will certainly revisit when we return in the Summer.
Easy to locate on HUNYADI JANOS UTCA,the number 16 bus drops you practically at the cafe at stop DONATI UTCA.
Opening hour's are;
Monday, CLOSED.
Tuesday to Friday, 4pm till 10pm.
Saturday & Sunday, midday till 10pm.
Great cafe ,superb service and great craft beer's & coffee.

Date of visit: March 2015
2  Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

Really nice to find a place that carries microbrews so close to the castle. Enjoyed a Legenda Snakebite IPA & Tavoli Galaxis IPA both on tap.

Nicely decorated, quaint place with 4 tables. Hungarian style toast(sandwich) was very good too. Highly recommended for a pint(actually 1/2 liter) and a light meal or snack.

2  Thank tunatamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

Hunyadi Cafe provides an intimate venue highlighting the up-and-coming Hungarian craft brewing movement. We sampled 4 draft offerings which included a millet based beer and a wheat beer made from Japenese hops. They have an extensive selection of bottled microbrews as well. Food is served here, but we were only in the mood for a post Fisherman's Bastion drink.
Levi, the owner, is passionate about his business, spending time explaining each unique offering and was attentive to our libation needs while we sat on the outdoor patio. If you are in the neighborhood, stop by and have a refreshing brew at Hunyadi Cafe.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank eidemilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

Hidden gem in Buda, close to the Castle district. If you like ale or IPA this is the place to visit! Do not expect a big bar or anything, it is just like a cafe with a few tables inside and outside. But you would not be able to find ales of this quality elsewhere in the city. And the service is great, too!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank attilabenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunyadi Homebistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hunyadi Homebistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing