We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed recently for two nights at the hotel.
It was a good experience and I cannot really complain about anything.

The room was clean and spacious. Wifi connection was good and fast.
The location is excellent for sightseeing as it is centrally located.
Banks and shops are close by, as are restaurents and bars.

The staff has been very friendly and supportive. In short, I can recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
There are newer reviews for Carat Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice hotel. This was our second stay and again the hotel was comfortable and clean. It is in a good location but it can be very noisy if you are in a room at the front(take earplugs). The breakfast was excellent i would recommend this hotel

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FrankandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, city and Metro stations can be reached quickly.
The rooms are quite small but clean, modern, cosy and in a very good condition. Breakfast was not overwhelming but still fine. Overall I would definitely recommend this 4-star-hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was the perfect spot to stay, to explore Budapest!
God hotel, spacious room, nice breakfast.
It has a supermarket right on the corner, really handy if you want to buy water or something else.
A lot of cafes and restaurants on the hotel street.
With a subway station very near, but You can walk almost everywhere.
Really enjoyed our stayed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaquelMoniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel was lovely to stay at, it was situated in a great location for exploring. The rooms were clean and fresh and modern.
The breakfast had a good selection of food and the hotel staff were helpful when I asked about train stops and how to get to different places.
The was only one thing I'd say negative and that was the 'city tax' charged to us when we checked out. It was only the equivalent to about £4 but we were still not told that there would be a charge at the end of our stay.
All in all a great hotel, friendly staff and great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannivic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel is located in a very optimal place for sightseeing and visiting the main sights, and to use the local transport network. The street outside the hotel is quite lively during night time, so be prepared that you will hear some noise from the street. The rooms are also not very well isolated, so in my room i was able to hear everything from the room next door.
I got a very good deal when i booked this hotel, but if i had payed more i would have been disappointed. I would not rate it for a four star hotel. There was a bath tub in my room, which was a pleasant surprise, but the shower hose was so short, that i was forced to sit down or bend over to be able to wash my hair. I am not very picky, and do not search for flaws in a hotel room, but this was quite irritating, as was the fact that the shower curtain was dirty and had brown stains on it. The carpet in the room also had some permanent stains on it. My biggest problem was anyway the temperature in the room. It was so hot that i woke up every night because of it 8stayed for 4 nights). I tried to set the AC several times, but it did not as much as give a sound. I told about this at the reception 3 times (in a very kind and polite way) and asked for help. I only got the answer that the AC is only in heating during winter time. When i said that it does not work at all, that there is not even any sound from it, i just got a " yes it works, just turn it off if you don't want heating". No one even bothered to check it. This service attitude was common at this hotel, except for the young girl at the reception, who was very kind and helpful, and the older gentleman working at the breakfast.
The website also said that there would be a bathrobe and slippers in the room, but this was not a standard, and i needed to ask for them at the reception. Ironing in the rooms is forbidden at this hotel, so there is no irons in the rooms.
In all i think the hotel has a perfect location, basic rooms, basic breakfast and quite poor service. If you get a good price deal, okay value, but if you look for luxury, something extra and good service, i am very sad to say, but then choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days, everything was great- location is amazing, lots of great places to go were just nearby; hotel staff was nice and polite; room was clean and comfortable, maybe a bit small, but this is not such a problem for us; breakfasts were good; sauna and sport facilities were okay and free of charge. The only thing that was sometimes really irritating is wi-fi quality, couple of times we lost connections, probably it's better for hotel to use passwords, so not so many people will use their wi-fi at the same time. Overall, nice place to stay, good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCDimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 333 in Budapest
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Boutique Hotel

Address: Kiraly utca 6, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#73 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#75 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $114 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing