We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our first visit to Budapest. Stayed at the Hotel Carat for 4 nights in late May. The hotel is centrally located in Pest, but amazingly quiet at night. Close to the Metro, supermarket, Vaci Utca (shopping & restaurant street). Minutes from the Chain Bridge and Andrassy Avenue. Our view was not great as it overlooked the other wing of the hotel and roof of the breakfast room. However, we woke up to birds singing and with that, we were quite pleased. We slept soundly each night to comfy beds in a spacious room with good motiff and always very clean. The bathroom was big; in general, good quality. Good breakfast, nice selections. Loved the scrambled eggs, and sausages with onions in paprika sauce! The Reception staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The bar is fairly small and not too cozy. Though one night, coming in after 10pm, there was a private birthday party of about 8 people and the bar was closed, but they accommodated us when we ordered our drinks. Will recommend to family & friends. Thus, a big THANK YOU to the staff of Hotel Carat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeignerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Carat Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a four night stay here. Simply excellent. Great hotel in a great location. Service could not be faulted. Breakfast staff were absolutely brilliant and always smiling. We will definitely be returning. I travel all over Europe and this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. Rooms are very clean, spacious and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank FrankandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in June. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was simple but good - served until 10am but would get there by 9.20am if you want the hot food such as scrambled eggs etc as they go fast!

Hotel is in a great location with shops, restaurants/bars, sightseeing bus stop and market on a Sunday just steps away. You'll walk a lot in Budapest so it's great to have a hotel that's a good base.

There's a locked baggage room if you have a later flight - taxi from airport 5800 HUF and around 30-40mins away depending on traffic.

Wi-Fi is slow but you can use it to do the basics.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room facing the courtyard as Kiraly can be a busy street so would expect lower floor...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty_Scotland_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Well located comfortable hotel adjacent to public transport, restaurants, shopping and tourist areas but in a quiet street. We arrived just after 9am and were able to check into our room straight away which was great. Staff were friendly. The breakfast is basic but ok. The rooms whilst small are clean

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maryanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is superbly located, just off the main square of Deak Ter, where all the transport is linked. Good value as well considering location. The rooms are nice and well decorated with everything you need inside. Breakfast is nice, not a huge selection but enough choice and was enjoyable. Staff were friendly however did not have enough information for you when asked certain questions about restaurants for example, however they did try. There is a gym at the hotel, which has a couple of machines with a jacuzzi and a sauna, which the staff can grant access to when you need. You have a 24 hr Shop round the corner if you need anything, and part of the hotel there is a nice restaurant/bar. All in all a very nice hotel, would recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainbowBright7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was very spaceous and nice. We were traveling with a 2 year old and it was nice to be able to spread out. We really enjoyed the breakfast every morning. There was a wide selection of food so there was always some that we like and that our 2 year old would eat. The staff at the desk were also very friendly and helpful. They will change Euros to Forints and were also helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. We also really liked the location it was close enough to walk most places and also very close to the metro station. We also always felt safe around the hotel even when coming back at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is ideally located. It's easy walking distance to many big sights and the 3 metro lines are 2 blocks away. My room was fairly large and overall well kept. The hotel breakfast was a pretty standard spread but the mini croissants were great. The only complaint I have is the cleaning products or air freshened in the bathroom left a strong scent that would not go away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those looking for a central location and at a good price.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mszs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 333 in Budapest
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Boutique Hotel

Address: Kiraly utca 6, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#73 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#75 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $114 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing