We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Central Basilica
Ranked #88 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at this hotel!”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Really reconmend this hotel. About half an hour from airport, we took the the zoni taxi from there. Keep the ticket they give you for the return trip and it will be cheaper going back.
Hotel- very clean. Rooms ok, have air con but you cant adjust the temp. Also there is a safe.
Location- Well this is spot on! Right next to St Stephens Basilica, this is an amazing church. About 5 mins walk to the metro and 10 mins to the river.
-- We went over to the Buda side, walked over the Chain Bridge. Take the lift up to the top, its not that expensive. There are churches, museums and lots of places to eat. Great views! Heroes Square was a bit of a let down, wished we had done the Synagogue instead. A must is St Stephens Basilica. Go up to the top, its only about £4, views are amazing. There are some great bars there in the square, try BOB's for drinks and great people watching. Mamma's is round the corner from BOB's. Really good italian. Also try Tom & George Italian. Book early as aways packed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shads96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    364
    80
    14
    10
See reviews for
78
352
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Excellent location right next to the Basilica with lots of restaurants and bars to choose from near by. Once inside the hotel, there was no noise from the bars etc outside, and quiet air conditioning, with good size bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast was basic but adequate. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownOwl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. The location is excellent. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurina072000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were six days in a hotel and had booked superior room which was nice big and had two large windows overlooking the church and two armchairs and a small table, which is an advantage when beds are generally low in the former Eastern European countries, and desk with TV and a safe that good enough is installed at floor level. LAN cable with RJ-45, which is in space. Breakfast is good and the coffee was the best I have stayed in a hotel, the cleanliness was top class throughout the hotel, service was quick and good from the staff in the breakfast room to the reception and cleaning your room. If you drive your own car, you cannot drive to the hotel entrance as it lies in a pedestrian street that is closed with a boom. There is a secure underground car park near the hotel in SAS utca, which costs 26.600 HUF for 6 days (there is no elevator to the street). The hotel is very close to everything, but it must be said that all public transport in Budapest is free for all EU citizens over 65 there can show a passport or other valid ID upon request.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJMJCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed with my girlfriend at the Central Basilica in June this year. The location is amazing - literally 50 paces from the steps of the Basilica and pretty much central to most things you would ever want to see in Budapest.
We had a double room which was quite spacious, minibar fridge, aircon, tv etc - no tea / coffee making facilities though. The bathroom was huge - full bath / shower and all looing very clean and new.
The breakfast was a buffet style spread, with a few breads, sausages, scrambed eggs, some meats & cheeses and cereals. Nothin amazing but if you make sure you get down to the breakfast room early its perfectly fine (get there late and there's not much left!).
Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We booked the Central Basilica after seeing th great reviews on Trip advisor and we were not disapointed.

Budapest is a fantastic city and this hotel is right in the middle of Pest. Literally just a few seconds away from St Stephens Basilica and two minutes walk tops to some of the nicest bars and restaurants in the city.. a gentle stroll for about 10 minutes takes you to the River just where the chain bridge crosses it to get to Buda. A nice bonus for us was that we first saw this sight after dark when everything was illuminated.

The hotel is basic, but very clean and comfortable.
With outside temperatures in the 30's, Our room was a little stuffy on our arrival but once the air con kicked in we did not notice that again for the rest of our stay. Our room was a little small but we could see into some of the other rooms when the cleaners were in them and some were a lot bigger. Having said that our room was plenty big enough for a Short stay of four or five days .

Our 3rd floor room had a TV with a clock, , Safe, hair drier, minibar / fridge but no tea / coffee facilities. We had a large-ish bathroom . The shower had good pressure. The air con was quite quiet too, so no need for ear plugs. . The bed was very low and there were no chairs so you either had to stand or lie down. The bed had a plastic sheet under the bottom cotton sheet and you tended to stick to it if you sweated. Our room was cleaned every day of our stay.

The hotel is built around a small quadrant and we had one of the inward facing rooms. because of this we did not hear the Basilica bells early in the morning as some of the reviews on here have commented on.

Breakfast was ok but very limited and in a windowless basement breakfast room. If I stayed there again I would go room only and take advantage some of the eating places that are right on the doorstep for breakfast.

I have to say that there were no down sides to this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given and early check in and although we had to check out at 10am The hotel let us leave our luggage in a locked room until late when our homeward flight was due

We enjoyed our stay in Budapest and at the Central Basilica. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royal palm beach, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

As many reviews indicate this hotel is situated in the best location in pest.
Pros:
• The location! Just 5 minutes' walk from the Danube and Chain bridge and 1 minute from St. Stephen's Basilica. It's close to Deák Ferenc Tér and Bajcsy-Zsilinszky Út metro stations.
• The price!
• The standard rooms were quite big, all with en suite facilities.
The breakfast was really good: a continental buffet with some hot options.
Cons:
• Room 105 was initially given to us, but one of the blinds did not operate so we were relocated to room 108.
• Both rooms were stuffy and both air conditioner's didn't work. We were told the "Engineers" would work on it the next day (as expected no engineers showed) and in meantime told to open the windows.
• Staff could be more friendly. Mixed review on this issue, one staff member was very helpful with taxi help and baggage storage, while the other seemed to come across as if we were pestering him with our room issues.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcass4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#34 of 333 in Budapest
1,130 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#42 of 333 in Budapest
1,113 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#14 of 333 in Budapest
128 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 333 in Budapest
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Basilica

Property: Hotel Central Basilica
Address: Hercegprimas utca 8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#67 Family Hotel in Budapest
#67 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central Basilica 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Basilica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Basilica Hotel
Central Basilica Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing