We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Staff & Breakfast great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Central Basilica
Ranked #87 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, Staff & Breakfast great.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Staff v helpful, breakfast was good, there was plenty of choice (although the milky rice at breakfast was weird-looking?!). Easy to find from Deak Ter metro station, 24hr shop round the corner, couple of coffee-shop chains very close, 5 mins walk to Danube.

Only downside was the comfort of the bed wasn't ideal but this may depend on what you're used to at home. I would also have liked brew-making stuff in the room, and wifi included (I have no idea how much it was, I didn't ask).

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a 'superior' room you get a view of the Basilica and not overlooked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1an3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    366
    81
    14
    10
See reviews for
79
354
55
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for new year it is very central and close to all tourist attractions.Bedrooms are nice and large also clean only fault towels are very thin would prefer them to be thicker and the shower is set at waist height and has to be hand held.Overall Budapest is a lovely city and worth a visit this was our second visit and we had forgotten how beautiful it was.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay in Budapest in December. A good time to visit the various Christmas markets and enjoy the festive feeling in Budapest.

The Reception staff were amazing, very knowledgeable and gave us great advice on trips and things to do. They deserve a medal for having to repeat themselves so often! We could not fault them.

The hotel itself is small and very dark in parts. Lights eventually come on via sensors in the lobbies. Our room was 112,very small and extremely poorly lit- hardly any lights and all with low wattage bulbs. A shame because everything else was fine for a four day stay.

Breakfast was good. Replenishment of the food and drinks was slow but the girls were very helpful. Lots of breads and eggs and some yoghurts. The room is in the basement with either a lift or stairs to get there. There is unfortunately no lounge or bar area so unless you want to stay in your room there is nowhere in the hotel to relax after a hard day trekking about. Mind you we did so much sightseeing that we were shattered!

If we went back we would ask for a room at the front of the hotel.The view of St Stephen's Basilica was stunning from there.

We booked private transfers from and to the airport. Unfortunately the driver going back decided to race two other taxi driver friends. It was white knuckle stuff and we were relieved to get there in one piece. Make sure to tell your driver not to go too fast before you set off if you aren't a speed freak!

Would we go back to Central Basilica? Perhaps, but a view of the Danube would be top on my list for the next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepids15c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Dec to visit this wonderful city. The location is perfect to reach almost anywhere central to the city.The rooms are spotless although small, but more than ample for a short break. The breakfast selection was good also. What I particularly liked were the staff, especially those on reception, they were extremely helpful and polite. This is a wonderful city and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, the price was also excellent compared with many other hotels we looked at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertNiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from 6th-9th December for the Christmas Markets. The location for the markets and everything in Budapest in general was spot on. It was dead central to all the main sights being right next to St Stephens Basilica, 10 mins walk to the Chain Bridge and the river and 5 mins walk to Varosmarty Square and Vaci Street.
The room (304) we had was very nice. It was a decent size with 2 large windows, a wardrobe, a desk and a stool, 2 bed side tables, a TV and a safe. The bed was quite low but comfy although as with most of Europe, a double bed is 2 singles pushed together with 2 single quilts; very strange. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and had plenty of towels. The whole room was very clean. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting; there was only 1 small light on the ceiling and 2 small ones on the back wall at the side of the bed. This made the room quite dark at night.
Breakfast was between 7-10am and was nice. Along with the rest of Europe there was bread, ham, cheese, eggs, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, croissants, cakes and also scrambled eggs and sausages. The breakfast room was nice with plenty of tables although not everything was replenished quickly enough, we had a wait for bowls one morning and some of the food was a bit slow to be replaced.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were early to check in so stored our luggage in the luggage room & again on the day of check out as we had a night flight and check out was 10am that morning.
Overall we had a very nice stay at this hotel. The location couldn't have been more central and for the price we paid it was excellent value. I highly recommend this hotel and Budapest in general as it is a lovely place. The Christmas Markets were excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed here for 3 days and had a wonderful time . The reception staff were very friendly and full of information about how to get the best of our time in Budapest . We were both very happy with our room great shower and spotlessly clean . The hotel was right in the middle of everything and was within walking distance of all the sights . The St. Stephens basilica was right next to the hotel and the x mas Market in the square next to it was great . Restaurants and coffee shops all around the hotel and a lovely wine bar right next door .

I intend to go back to Budapest with my husband next year and will be going back to the Basilica . I can recommend it

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location directly beside St. Stephen's Basilica. My husband and I walked everywhere we needed because it's all walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are kind of small but tasteful which is typical of Europe. The breakfast was plentiful and filling. The room sometimes had a smell like bad sewage or something coming from the bathroom but not unbearable. As we visited in December the Christmas markets were going on and the hotel is centrally located between all three of the markets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeshia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#34 of 334 in Budapest
1,168 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#39 of 334 in Budapest
1,169 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Basilica

Property: Hotel Central Basilica
Address: Hercegprimas utca 8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#67 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#67 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central Basilica 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Basilica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Basilica Hotel
Central Basilica Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing