We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service”
Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Ranked #54 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very cozy design hotel, with really friendly personnel and nice rooms. Good size rooms. We got exactly the room we wanted. The room view was to the river and the road, but the isolation was good, so nights were quiet. The only thing that was a bit funny was the shower door, as it opened to the bathroom and so the floor was completely wet afte a shower. But there were alot of small details that were thought of. We could extend to keep the room for 90 minutes, and the personnel was so helpful. The view was spectacular to the Chain bridge. Good restaurants nearby and so convenient transportation very close. Wouldn't mind staying here another time! Nothing major to complain.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank K0kki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our hotel and services.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Lanchid 19 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 706 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Lanchid 19 for three nights. The hotel is located right next to the Chain Bridge which makes for glorious river views. Request a room with a bridge and river view. The boutique hotel is clean, has comfy beds, lots of natural light and large windows. I has a buffet breakfast or quick breakfast option if you want or you can eat close by. We found the location to be very convenient and the staff helpful and professional. Definitely a great spot for a boutique independent hotel experience without breaking the bank:)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ana4sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and writing your wonderful review. Our hotel's location and professional staff are really great assets for an independent boutique hotel. We are glad you liked our breakfast selection which we try to keep diverse.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Lanchid 19 hotel could not be better located. We were amazed and delighted with the wide expanse of view from both inside the penthouse (anywhere) and from the huge balcony. We didn't need to go anywhere to enjoy the city. The staff were friendly and eager to help. We had read the reviews and brought our own pillows. The bedding and the furniture were definitely below par on the luxury scale so that was our only complaint. But -- if it had all been as fantastic as the jacuzzi and the room and the balcony then we probably would have found it booked for two years in advance and unavailable to us!

Room Tip: anything on floor 7 for sure but probably anything river side would be great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peace R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank your for your fabulous review. We are really proud of our panorama suites/penthouses. Famous people also often choose to stay there as the view is definitely one of the best a guest can get over the city and the Danube river.

I recommend you to try the other side next time, an equally nice view of the Royal Palace.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor in this hotel on the Buda side of the Hungarian capital. Its location could not get any better, it's by the river and just at the foot of the castle hill. The bohemian Pest side is but a ten-minute walk across the Chain Bridge (Lánchíd in Hungarian). In addition to a pleasant service and creative interiors, the hotel's biggest attraction to me is that it tries to exist in harmony with its surroundings, meaning both the buildings on its sides or above it, and its greater environment. This is a green hotel, playing around with its glass panels on the facade to gather energy in a way which got it into architectural magazines when it opened. I would recommend it to young people who are not only looking for Baroque in the town but are ready to see something more contemporary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esztikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Eszter!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is on the Danube very close to the chain bridge on the Buda side. It's away from the main tourist area, so it's a bit quieter but everything is within walking distance. There's a rail line right across the street as well. The hotel staff were very friendly and gave us great tips on local restaurants and sites. The rooms were very clean and the upper rooms have a great view of the river/bridge. The rear facing upper rooms have a good view of the Hungary National Museum ("castle") which is directly above the hotel, on a hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-side (river view) upper -- we were on floor 5.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Jeff,

thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to read you liked our location, rooms and staff. Lanchid 19 is located beneath the Royal Castle, which is definitely the greatest attraction of the city. I guess you used the funiculaire at the end of the street that takes travellers to the castle area in 2 minutes.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay both at Budapest and our hotel.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Such a nice stylish hotel! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were big, clean and comfortable. The view is stunning, just make sure you take the riverside room, and which is above the trees, i suppose it was 4th floor: Then you'll get an amazing view over Pest!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Arnold_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to read you liked our hotel and the view. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a shame - I had such high hopes and other sites featuring it (tablet hotels for example) made me feel it was a good choice but it wasn't.
The good thing going for it is the location
The bad things:
-They forgot to send the car to collect me at the airport despite me booking it months ago and having 6 huge bags (the reason I booked it!). They didn't even apologise or offer to pay for the cab despite me having to wait ages for a cab big enough to take my luggage
-when we arrived the TV didn't work and despite calling nobody came. It took until the next night before someone came but I had to call again.
-the carpet in the room was filthy. It looked like old chewing gum had been removed but was stained and clearly needed replacing
- the towels were shocking. Threadbare and thin with holes in! I complained and the next day was given a new thick towel but could see on the trolleys the cleaner uses that there were definitely two types of towel. Thin and old. Thick and new. Maybe they give better towels to better rooms...but why?? The poor towels weren't fit to dry a dog with
- on the first day our room wasn't cleaned despite us not leaving any sign to suggest otherwise. We returned to the hotel at 10pm and it was in the same state as 8am. We complained and they said there was nothing they could do now as it was late so brought some towels instead. Not only were they threadbare but we later realised they were filthy. Big brown stain on one and black marks on another. Shocking. I took them to the front desk the next morning and he just shrugged.
- the bathroom is odd. You have climb into the bath to shower and there's no shower curtain so water goes everywhere. Such poor design (for a design hotel!). I get if they were going for the wet room approach but this was far from that. It was just a very wet room
- we were at the end of the building and realised we were right next to the lift shaft that the cleaners use which must start going up and down 10 times a minute from 6am so it woke us up every morning

Despite calmly complaining about all of the above there was just a hopeless 'manager' (apparently) at the desk who said he was sorry. That was it.

To top it all the place was sterile, massively lacking in atmosphere, the bar in the lobby was odd and more like a doctors waiting room.

There are SO many better hotels to choose from that do not proclaim to be designer hotels. More fool me for falling for the hype.

Unless the hotel has a serious shake up. I wouldn't advise anybody stay here

Room Tip: Don't choose one!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review. First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned. I will personally look into this issue to clarify responsibilities of our staff and make the steps necessary to avoid similar situations. As a result of our high occupancy of previous seasons, we could only start major renewal works this month in rooms and public areas including replacement of curtains, carpets and other textiles where necessary. This might have been the reason why you saw two kinds of textiles on the trolleys of our room maids.
We do hope that these efforts will result in our customers being satisfied with our hotel and services.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#41 of 333 in Budapest
2,783 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#46 of 333 in Budapest
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#79 of 333 in Budapest
1,324 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#29 of 333 in Budapest
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Address: Lanchid utca 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#48 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $95 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing