We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view on a beautiful city”
Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Ranked #85 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is on the banks of the Danube, thus you have a great view from your room. I was on floor 5, I saw the Danube and Chainbridge from my room. Everything is very near, the Royal Castle is a couple of hundred meters, take the Funiculaire. The hotel is clean and modern, simple design but of good taste. I liked the bar area very much.

Room Tip: I only stayed in a deluxe room with a Danube view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reed r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are glad you liked the hotel's design and location. Please let us know if you want to return so we can provide you with a room on floor 4-5-6 facing the Royal Castle which equally has a stunning view.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 737 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent a long week-end at Budapest. A friend recommended this hotel. We had a nice big room with wonderful view over the Danube. In the night the city was splendid. The room was modern and clean. Stuff was helpful and friendly. They arranged tickets to the opera.
Wide selection breakfast with fresh orange juice and delicious coffee. I recommend this hotel. You are close to the city centre and the Buda castle.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe room, the view is magnifique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Maria,

thank you for your splendid comments. We are glad you were satisfied with our services and staff. Our locations is definitely the best if you want to visit great sites of Budapest.

We hope you will return to the city and our hotel.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a great weekend stay. Fantastic view across the Danube. Liked the room concept. Go to the brand new Zona restaurant just a few steps from the hotel. Fantastic modern Hungarian menu. Would recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank iain_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Iain,

thank you for your kind review and the nice comments on our hotel and staff.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS HOTEL! They take advantage of cancellation/no show policies and do not honor customer service. I booked 4 nights at this hotel from September 22, 2012 – September 26, 2012 through Booking.com which reservation was subsequently cancelled shortly after the booking. Upon learning my cancellation with Booking.com didn't go through and that I had been charged for “no show” on September 23, 2012 via email notification, I called the hotel directly same day was to start to confirm cancellation of the booking and explained that I didn’t know that my cancellation with Booking.com was not processed. The hotel refused to accept my late cancellation on September 23, 2012 and they have insisted to charge me for the ENTIRE FOUR NIGHT stay, almost 600 Euros!

Furthermore, they have subsequently ignored my emails and faxes to their General Manager to resolve the issue. Not only do they charge unfairly, they don't even value their customers enough to acknowledge with a response! Extremely poor customer service.

Save your money and stay elsewhere, I will be escalating this matter with the Hungarian National Tourist Office and National Association for Consumer Protection. I travel often and have never encountered such poor treatment and customer service.

Room Tip: Book with a hotel chain for better customer service and hotel management
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank LCMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

PLEASE DO NOT BELIEVE IT! This is a FALSE and DEFAMATORY REVIEW!
We have contacted the lady several times but now will take immediate legal steps.

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Why else do we travel but to experience other places - however hotel standards here are very different in some cases. Walls were really banged up, scratched and needed paint and the original furniture was worse for wear. Shower was hand held only, not useful, when it rested it in the tub, water was all over which had me giggling. The very basic offerings we would look past, but less than clean sheets and sub-par towels are where we draw the line. Great staff handled our concerns about the room and moved us to another room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are sorry you got a room which you did not like. We are aware of the problem of the painting and the shower which we will fix in the near future.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First the positives, the staff seems to genuinely want to be of service, the location was great and the hotel was aesthetically pleasing. However while this hotel touts itself as a design hotel, it seems to have forgotten that the room needs to first serve the needs of the guest. Our "designer" chair was unusable, so we had to use the bed as the only seat in the room. An even bigger deal was the bathroom. We somehow got a room with one of those tubs, and a removable shower head...no shower wall. the first time i used the it, i got water all over the bathroom. even as i mastered the art of the showerhead, it was clear that the design was flawed: if i never touched the shower, it still leaked onto the floor. Future guests beware: request a room with a real shower! The towels were pretty subpar...a few had holes in them and they were pretty thin. the wifi worked okay for us. The restaurant recommendation that the front desk gave to us was okay. We took transit a lot, it would have been helpful if the front desk could sell transit tickets.

The hotel also arranged for airport taxi at a price that seemed high. we researched it and went back down to desk to say that we would like the cheaper option, which they then arranged for....why didn't they offer that in the first place? i think they are getting a cut from the taxi/limo company. [dont go in the mercedes unless you want to pay a premium.]

Room Tip: request a room on the Danube and one with a real shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OaktownChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review and your positive comments. We put high standards to our team and it is always good to have feedbacks. As for the bathroom, we are aware of the problem and it took some time to find a subcontractor who can fix it.
Being a 4-star hotel we think our guests deserve high-quality cars and English speaking drivers, that is why we have a Mercedes service. But you are right, our recepctionist should have offered you an alternative.

Kind regards,
Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were staying there a weekend with friends. It was just super. The hotel location is fantastic. Beautiful surroundings with the Castle and lots of trees on the other side and the amazing city view with the river Danube on the other side. Easy to access everything on foot...and if you have luck, as we had...it is just amazing walking through this beautiful city.

We had different types of rooms so we could compare both the rooms and the views.I think it is worth to pay a bit more for the amazing river view however the very romantic, quite Castle side has also a charme. What I need to point is the staff. They are young and very polite, kind and helpful. Rooms sizes are quite good but our castle side room was a bit smaller than the river side one. Breakfast is absolutely wide selection, I can not agree with previous comments regarding the breakfast poor selection. You can drink breakfast coffee from real coffe beans from a coffee machine and not served in the general thermos bottle. All in all our stay was faboulus. Definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Upper floor river side!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anais R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. Please let me know when you return, so I can help you finding the best room for you.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#43 of 336 in Budapest
2,909 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,577 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#44 of 336 in Budapest
4,558 reviews
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Address: Lanchid utca 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#48 Business Hotel in Budapest
#61 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $91 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing