We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view of the Danube”
Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Ranked #55 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Excellent view of the Danube”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel room offered me an excellent view of the Danube. I could lie in bed and look out of the ceiling to floor window - bliss!

However, were it not for the view, I believe this hotel (on the Buda side) would find it difficult to fill all of the rooms. The negatives were an unattractive bar area - more or less in front of the reception desk and a very unappealing restaurant area on the first floor - in 4 days we only saw one couple eating in the restaurant. The breakfast was very basic and, in my opinion, over priced so we opted to eat elsewhere.

I'm unlikely to return to the hotel as there are better alternatives on the Pest side.

Room Tip: No point in going to this hotel unless you have a room with a very good view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aveagoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are glad you liked the location of the hotel and the nice view. of the Danube. The other side of the hotel faces a very quiet Castle area, many of our guests like staying there too. As for the restaurant, we are planning to change the lighting to make it more intimate.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    247
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
62
360
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've booked the room 2 months in advance and we saved about 20% from the price of the standard room. We payed 67 € per night.
All standard rooms are at the lower floors. We asked for a room with a view on the danube and we got it (even if it was not included in the standard room rate)!
The hotel is 10 minutes by walk from the Pest center and 3 minutes from Lanchid bridge. It's also very close to the funicular for the Buda Castle.
The room is very spacious, always cleen, with free Wifi. The bathroom is equipped with the bathub, nice,clean and confortable.
Personell is very kind and helpful.
The hotel is really a 4 stars!
If I came back to Budapest I'd book for this hotel again, well done!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Smallish room, but big beautiful view. Terrible bath design. Not a viable shower option without flooding the bathroom.
Breakfast not included and pricy though uninspired. Walk 2 doors down and dine at Marvellosa (sp?) Reception very helpful interfacing with Hertz who ultimately brought the rental car to the hotel. Hotel staff also helped me figure out how to shift into reverse!
Be aware that the hotel is on the Buda side near the Citrodella and Castle Hill. It's an easy wonderful 10 minute walk over Chain Bridge to Pest side where most of the sights are.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alison,

thank you for taking the time to write your nice review. You are right, there are more pubs and restaurants on the Pest side of the city, but being on the Buda side has also its advantages. It is definitely much more quiet and much more green.
Thank you for pointing out our helpful staff.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hungary is famous for its lack of understanding of good customer service. (I am a Hungarian (visiting home from the US) and I see and rate the service from two angles.) Lanchid 19 Hotel
stands out in many ways from this often frustrating hospitality industry, or it is where service should be 22 years after the end of communism.

The main thing worth noting: the staff was professional and 100%: informative but not wordy, accommodating but not pushy and polite and/yet genuine. They were a delight. Their attitude should be taught in school.

"Despite" being Hungarian my wife and I were treated this way. Sorry if I comes across with a load of preconceptions but this is just speaking from experience.

I very much appreciated the design, especially the atrium although the rooms could benefit from 3 extra sq meters. In light of everything so perfect, this seemed like a little shortsightedness from the planners.

I have one regret and one comment. I should have stayed in the suite but I practically had 8 hours and just wanted to sleep. The receptionist could have upsold me and I made a vain effort to make a deal but he said the price was firm (~$100 vs. $300)/hotel policy. If he gave 10% discount I would have looked at the suite and probably stayed for 2 nights - looking at the pictures and review.

Regardless, I will be back! This is my favorite hotel of this decade : )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Gabor,

I would like to thank you for your really wonderful review. I am glad we met your expectations as a design hotel. We are really proud of our design and the awards we received for it.
Please contact me when coming back to Budapest, we will show you the panorama suite and I am sure we will agree on the rate.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is in a good location.It has parking available on the street right in front.We booked a room with views of the Danube and the Pest riverbank and our expectations were exceeded.The wall to wall and ceiling to floor window gave us a stunning spectacle.The room and bathroom were bright,fresh and modern.Breakfast was excellent.All in all a delightful experience and we thought good value for Budapest.Only one negative - we arrived quite late and were told the closing time for the restaurant.When we went to get some food well before this time we were told that the restaurant was no longer cooking. The staff could only tell us to go over the bridge to Pest and look for somewhere to eat as there was nowhere local - a long long walk - but we got over it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. Being at an excellent location in the heart of the city is really one of our major advantages. We are very proud of our well-trained staff but the case you mentioned was not handled properly and I would like to apologize for that.

I hope you will return to Budapest and choose our hotel again.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Took a top-floor room, which was a bedroom, sitting room, bathroom.
Great private jacuzzi, and a powerful shower.
Superb view of the river and bridges from the private balcony, could not be beaten.
Bed was large and comfortable.
Modern TVs in both rooms, if you need TV when in a hotel.
Room service was a little limited, but that which we ordered was of good quality.

Room Tip: Pay for the rooms at the top, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it. The panorama suite on top of the building is definitely the most unique part of the hotel. And we agree, it can not be beaten.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Travelled 2 adults and 2 kids, hence, booked 2 adjacent deluxe rooms with a connecting door. Wonderful decision. Staff were very friendly and helpful with questions. Rooms + bathrooms were clean and big enough. The view to Danube was fantastic. Good wifi connection throughout the hotel. Breakfast offered almost everything. Location and parking posibilities (arrived with a car) were good. Right opposite the "Hop on Hop Off" sightseeing bus stop. Only minus factor to mention: the hotel needs pretty soon a minor renovation (i.e. the carpets in the rooms) otherwise, things will start looking uglier and dirtier. Thank you for the nice stay - we really enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with Danube view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeynepViyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you had a nice stay and were satisfied with our hotel and our services. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Property: Lanchid 19 Hotel
Address: Lanchid utca 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#42 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#48 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing