We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz
Ranked #81 of 677 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed there two nights and could not come up with something negative. The rooms were huge, the washroom as well. Very clean, cozy, like new. The staff were great, very helpful and courteous. The location was fantastic, on a side street just behind the Corinthian Hotel which faces a main street. We would just enter the Corinthian through the back, exit through the front and take advantage of their own taxi service, which is reliable. Within a short distance of the subway and a fair walk to the major attractions, including the Danube River. Close to bars and restaurants. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilista17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location on the Pest side and very near to Andrassi, with some lovely restaurants nearby. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a smooth check in. The rooms were spacious with a kitchenette, they also had good black out curtains to make for a good sleep, but the street outside could be noisy at times. The breakfast was served in the reception area and was plain but ok.

Room Tip: Maybe see if there are room located at the back of the building away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carryonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good things: large rooms, well located, close to hop on-hop off route, close to Andrassi Blvd and some main objectives (Opera, Terror House, Heroes Square).

Bad things:
- poor English from the personnel
- broken car elevator
- they said to put used towel on the floor to be changed ; we just found them very nicely folded ...on the floor
- the receptionist said that is ok to park the car outside if it's no yellow line, she didn't say anything about paying before, so we got 2 penalties. When we confronted her she said she told us about the prior payment (she didn't). Who's the lyier now? The other receptionst simply said that it's not hotel's job where we park. Yes, it is if your car elevator is broken and I have to check out the next morning and especially if I ask you about car parking. You are there to give valid information. I was a tourist so I didn't know local rules, that's why I was asking you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaHHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We flew Ryanair to Budapest getting to City Hotel Harsfa Utca at lunch time. The rooms are spacious with kitchenette ensuite fridge etc. fabulous.location great for getting anywhere. This is on the Pest side of the city. Hop on hop off buses and river trips included, these are in abundance.

Room Tip: Bit like apart hotel, all rooms spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blossomtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Three friends and I visited Budapest mid April, and stayed at the City Hotel in Budapest.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is very close to the Jewish Quarter, where all the bars and restaurants are, and only a 10 minute (1 tram stop) walk away from the City Centre.

The hotel itself was pleasant, with a good spread put out for breakfast, and friendly staff.

The room was nice also, however slightly on the small side for 4 people. All the ameneties for the kitchen were available, and we had no complaints. Good for people travelling on a budget, but wanting a central location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jblogsweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our room was spacious with fridge, microwave and kettle. Breakfast was simple but enough to get you started for the day. Reception staff were helpful. Hotel is in a quiet side street but within a short walk to bars, money exchange, restaurants & small shops. Access to hop on/hop off buses, trams & metro all within easy reach. It is unlikely that we will visit Budapest as tourists again, but I would recommend this hotel to friends but perhaps not in high summer as there is no A/C in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nutkins47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

No pretence hotel. Big rooms with kitchen to cook if you're that way inclined. Breakfasts were excellent. Clean although rooms a little old. We had no Air-con even though late thirties/early forties when we were there. Fan in room kept us cool at night. We found piles of restaurants 5 minutes walk away - just below Oktogan. Portions in restaurants can be huge. In the restaurants nearby we had 3/4 courses and wine for €30 per head - can't argue with that. The red bus service - red line and yellow line - for €20 per head is for two days. They sell tickets in hotel. The bus can be got at Oktogan only 5 minutes walk away. For €20 you have use of 2 bus routes and boat ride. As the buses were very reliable, we used them for further 2 days because they were going to all the spots we wanted to see. Ran like clockwork. Fabulous city - loads to see. Highlight for us was a meal on last day in New York Cafe - only 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask about air-con. Hotle said it was working but wasn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manushamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#36 of 336 in Budapest
996 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#210 of 336 in Budapest
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#84 of 336 in Budapest
1,520 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,232 reviews
City Inn
#86 of 336 in Budapest
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz

Address: Harsfa utca 51, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 677 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $55 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Partner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing