We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #90 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing property with excellent staff”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at St Georges Residence in Buda side of the Hungarian capital. It is a very charming classical looking hotel. The area is absolutely stunning, it is in the cobbled street of the medieval part of Buda. The decor of the hotel was luxurious, and the cleanliness was impeccable. The area is very quiet, so if you want a good night sleep, I definitely recommend to stay in this area. The suite is very spacious and tastefully decorated with luxurious bedding. Staff are kind and attentive. I will definitely stay in this hotel at my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    113
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
92
234
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Two nights in an oasis in a wonderful city. We are en route to Belgrade otherwise would be staying much longer. Luxury, first class service and a fine, readonably priced restaurant. A must if you visit Budapest.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is a terrific place whether you are staying one night or for a week. We loved staying in the Castle District with its beautiful landmark buildings and residential character. It was also extremely convenient in that you can hop on the Number 16 bus which runs about every 5 minutes and be just about anywhere in the City Center onthe Pest Side.

The hotel itself offers spacious rooms, well appointed with kitchen facilities, and with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located on Castle Hill, which rises above the Danube River on the Buda side of the city, the St George Residence is an elegant, smallish and pristinely well kept property with large rooms, and an exceptionally professional, very kind, and helpful staff. I did not read up on the building's history but it was very likely a private villa at some point. It certainly has the feel of upper crust blue blood royalty...Tastefully decorated with genuine antiques, the hotel is a few steps from some of Budapest's most majestic and elegant cultural, architectural, and historical sites -- surrounding a hushed, except for the chirping birds, and an exceptionally well manicured courtyard dotted with table-clothed patio tables and umbrellas. I only had a small lunch (soup and chicken risotto) and the occasional beer or coffee in the courtyard which, I believe, is open for dining service till 8-9 pm. It was excellent. The surrounding neighborhood is exquisitely renovated, oozing with charm, light, music, and good air.

Although it's bustling during the day, Castle Hill is calm and relatively quiet and slow in the evening -- away from the much more active night life in Pest, below, on the other side of the river. Still, there are ample shopping and restaurant opportunities to be had in the neighborhood -- besides the history and culture which is everywhere...There are several important and beautiful interiors of sites on the hill--the cathedral obviously, and the Folklore Museum less so--do yourself a treat and pop in.

You can walk down Castle Hill and cross the bridge into Pest in 15-20 minutes, if you're going down hill. The steps back up are another matter but if you're in decent shape it's not a problem. There's also a 'tram car' that takes pedestrians up and down the hill on a cable (I'm forgetting the name of this thing). It costs about 1,000 ft (or about five dollars). And, of course, there are cabs all over the place--many of which will rip you off. The ride across the bridge should cost around $8-10 or less--2,000 ft. The only reliable cab company that I know of is City Taxi--they will pick you up if you call at (36-1) 211 1111--this is the best Budapest tip I can give you. Have the front desk call them, or use yr cell phone. If they say 10 minutes, wait for them...They are super diligent, honest, reliable. The english of all cab drivers is hit or miss, and some will use it to cheat you.

The Castle Hill also provides, without a doubt, the city's most dramatic views -- really magnificent at night or day. I've been to this city well over 50 times since 1989, and it's a treat -- kind people, good food, with history, architecture and culture in abundance. As for culture--their are probably 3-4 concerts weekly in the cathedral...

If you want something on quiet, professional, friendly, historical, and elegant side, St George is an excellent choice in a perfect neighborhood...Recommended without hesitation...

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 11--large enough for a reception of 10-12 people easily, but inadequate seating for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesSteeleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

One of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. We had a 1-bedroom "gold" level suite. The double-doors enter to a large room with built-in kitchen facilities, dining table & chairs; wardrobe unit; desk, and lots of room to move around. Off the main room is a good size bedroom, with comfortable bed. Bathroom is ensuite to bedroom and is also very large. (the only minor drawback is that there is no shower curtain around the tub, so you have to be careful not to get spray out of the tub) Very convenient location for visiting sites on the "Buda" side; easy to walk or take bus/metro to the "Pest" side. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Large parlour on main floor of hotel and beautiful outside garden area make it feel like your home. Grocery store about 5-minute walk away -- bought breakfast food for our entire stay, which is so much nicer than eating out every morning.

Room Tip: no elevator -- keep in mind when packing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our recent stay in Budapest from 17-20 April was simply incredible. Not only was the city beautiful and “tourist friendly”, our hotel, the St George, was fantastic. Located in the Castle District, it was the perfect base for exploring the city. There was lots to see and do on the side, Buda, but we also had not problem walking over to Pest and thus saw the whole city. The hotel itself was great; elegant décor, friendly staff, big rooms with high ceilings, and most importantly for us, clean and quiet! There was some construction going on in front of the hotel, but he wall on this palace like building were so thick we didn’t hear much and they never worked at night. Finally, we didn’t eat at the hotel except for breakfast, which was pretty good and consisted of boiled and fried eggs, bacon, pastries, various juice, coffee and tea, in addition to fruit and cereal. All and all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in Buda, eat in Pest (many more options in Pest).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Last month was my fourth stay (ranging from three days to two weeks) at the St George Residence and, as usual, it was a superb experience. My apartment was spacious, furnished with taste, and comfortable. The staff was efficient, friendly, courteous, and attentive to every request -- even if out of the ordinary. The residence is well-equipped with all the amenities that can be expected by a demanding tourist or business traveler, including speedy Wi-Fi connection and daily delivery of English and German language newspapers. As advertised, this is a unique and pleasant venue, with excellent personalized service, situated in the historical district, with quick access to downtown Budapest, whether by taxi or by frequent minibus service The only discomfort was the reconstruction and repaving of the street where the residence is located, which by now should be over.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#79 of 333 in Budapest
113 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
894 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Property: St. George Residence
Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#67 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing