We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A six day break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #99 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just got back from a six day break . The hotel is in a very good location with a few bars and restaurants nearby .there r some fantastic views from the castle looking across the Danube towards pest.We were given a free upgrade to a diamond suite the room was huge .We had no trouble with languages where ever we went it is well worth buying a bus pass u can then hop on and off buses ,trams and the metro. Budapest is cheap compared to the uk but prices vary depending whereabouts u are.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on a low floor as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dannyandandy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 485 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Impressive big rooms are available in this perfect located hotel. Only few steps to the castle, fisherman's bastion. Rooms are equipped with old fashioned furnitures - everything fits to the atmosphere. Reception service very good and friendly.
Breakfast was not very impressive - we were first after opening the restaurant, but waiter needed 15 minutes to bring some food

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geralt-von-Rivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this hotel to spend new years eve in Budapest.The location is very good.but we were however disappointed with the hotel. Although the public areas were well maintained and welcoming we were unable to use them due to a private party taking over what appeared to be the entire ground floor, which we were not made aware of until after we had arrived.

the suite (Room 7) was furnished with turn of the century period furniture but lacked any confortable seating area which meant the only place to relax was on the bed. The air conditioning did not function properly and the room was unbearably hot. Our room overlooked the cobbled street which made it too noisy to open the windows.

Altough the bathroom appeared to have been renovated fixtures and fittings were well worn and had not been replaced which included the rusty towel rail/ radiator, shabby hand rails on the bath and a small travel hairdryer that we had assumed had been left by the previous guest.

Although the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel does not warrant a 5 star rating. Living in Hungary we are well aware of many better quality hotels in Budapest. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel we recommend you find somewhere different.

Room Tip: Room 7 is above the function room so if you want a peacful night ask for a quieter room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeResidence, Manager at St. George Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Ken515,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel and let us reflect to a few issues you had unpleasant experience with. The suites do have air-conditioning equipment but during winter period the same equipment provides heating in the suites, therefore the air-conditioning function is centrally switched off. The windows are soundproof and if they are closed the street noise is not heard. Thank you for your comment as to the towel radiator in the bathroom it has been re-painted. We were happy to serve you and thank you for sharing your experience with us! Sincerely yours, St. George Residence All Suite Hotel de Luxe in Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The St. George Residence is an amazing 5 star hotel in Budavar, Budapest, Hungary. The hotel’s flayers says that it offers room Service, Restaurant, Lounge, Mini Bar, Refrigerator, Satellite TV, Kitchen and Hair Dryer. I had a test of this a week ago and I can attest to the fact that they offer more than they say. The rooms are elegant, clean and extremely specious with a small kitchenette for coffee brewing and a private terrace. The luxurious rooms are also fitted with high interned connection, cable TV and a hair dryer. The hotels also offer a delicious buffet breakfast every day. Room service is also available, you only have to request for it. If you’re a looking for a kingly comfort, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

beautiful location and bueutiful place. Welcome drinks and nice faniture.There was a kitchen so we could make own breakfast. It was fun. We stayed for 2nd time about same time of a year. Last year was on Pest side but we prefare Buda side. Basically quies except when bus runs on street. Our room was on the street side,,. Only thig I missed was a mirror. That's fanny there was no mirror except from one in the bathroom.

Room Tip: a large mirror in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A wonderful find in the Buda Castle area of Budapest. We were there for the Christmas markets and, while the hotel is a bit remote from the main market, it is within a 20 minute walk or easy bus ride on public bus (bus 16 for 450 HUF, about $2). Rooms were large, beautifully furnished, and included a kitchenette and a bottle of wine upon arrival. It is close to Matthias Church and several excellent restaurants as well as a small local market. The restaurant and breakfast are adequate given the proximity to other facilities. We were two couples and enjoyed being able to share a glass of wine and some cheese in our kitchenette after exploring. The staff all spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful and pleasant. We hesitated to make the reservation because of the distance from the Christmas Markets, but were delighted with our choice once there.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a tub with hand shower and a very large bedroom, room 3 had a shower (no tub) and large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break, and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We had a bronze suite, which is the cheapest option, and the room was bigger than our London flat! High ceilings, big bathtub, very comfortable bed. The temperature of the room was perfect - not too hot or to cold, stuffy or draughty. The room was absolutely spotless, and all the furniture and bathroom fixings were in perfect condition. Even the remote for the TV looked new! We were welcomed with a really good bottle of wine, which was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were happy to give directions and recommendations, call taxis, etc. We also had drinks in the restaurant but didn't eat there; the service was very good. The location is great - it's in a quiet street very close to Matyas church, but it doesn't feel isolated or unsafe at all. I would highly recommend St George to anyone, and would be happy to return. I honestly have no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 334 in Budapest
986 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#86 of 334 in Budapest
727 reviews
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#39 of 334 in Budapest
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $103 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing