We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value But Far From a Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #91 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good Value But Far From a Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

St. George Residence has a great location on Buda hills. There are very good restaurants in close vicinity of the hotel. Also, if you are driving, it is easy to find a parking spot nearby which is unusual for central Budapest.

Room is very large which is nice. The quality and style of decoration is so and so but that can be seen in the pictures. The bathroom is large but it lacks shower cabin and is very basic. In general, this is not a five star hotel. I would rate it as 3 star hotel with unusually large rooms. To be fair, the price is also closer to 3 star hotel.

My major complaint is breakfast which is remarkably poor. Both in terms of quality and selection of food and drinks offered it is a disaster.

If you looking for a reasonably priced hotel on Buda hills, St. George Residence is a good choice. If you are loooking for top quality, you should find it somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tygrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeResidence, General Manager at St. George Residence, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Your comment regarding the breakfast is very useful to us and we shall take steps to improve the selection of our food and drinks served during the breakfast.

At the same time we are happy that you would recommend our Hotel in the Castle District in terms of reasonable value for the money.

Sincerely yours,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    114
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
92
237
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights with a group of friends. The hotel is simply excellent. It is genuinely a luxury boutique hotel. The rooms are enormous and furnished with luxury and taste. The service was impeccable. The breakfast were copious.We were treated like kings there.
The only small problem was road works under our window which started at 6 am but the hotel was obviously not responsible for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We would stay here again because we liked the the property, the rooms had nice furniture and the kitchens were spacious as were the bathrooms. You can enjoy a drink or food in the peaceful courtyard with a cannon! Great location for touring the Buda side and easy walk to restaurants and historic sites. We plan on staying again in a few weeks and hoping for another nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed in this gorgeous hotel last summer. The rooms were lovely as were the bathrooms. Are friends took one of the suites which was absolutely gorgeous, our room more standard but still lovely!
In a great location for visiting the old parts of budapest, and not far from the centre!
Would definately return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicks2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Amazing property in beautiful Castle District. Superb rooms, stunning decor. We stayed in a gold suite and it was beyond expectations. However, I absolutely concur with the sentiment of below post: five star hotel, three star service. The crew doesn't have much of a clue. They are pleasant enough but the only polish in this place is on the furniture. On the weekend the guy providing service in the breakfast room wore jeans and t shirt. No big deal but utterly incongruous when matched against the plushness of the property. Bottom line: would I stay here again? For sure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pronews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel and the rooms are really, really nice. The location is also perfect. It is located up on top of the hill in Buda within the fortress walls. There are lots of restaurants around and many other things to do and see.

The staff are friendly but definitely don't live up to the 5 star standards you would expect to find here. They weren't able to answer any of my questions and weren't very helpful when it came to advice on activities around town. It wasn't a big deal as this city is really easy to get around and most things are relatively close to each other. I just expected quite a bit more service and knowledge for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grepthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was convenient and we loved being on the Buda side of the city, near the palace grounds. The room was very clean and the restaurant was very good. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return sometime.

Room Tip: The small kitchen was very convenient. We drove in from Germany so brought a few groceries with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyonsKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#70 of 334 in Budapest
123 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,129 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Property: St. George Residence
Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing