We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice for Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #91 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent choice for Budapest”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Lovely hotel on the Buda side of the city. A bit quieter than the Pest side, but we found that to be a plus. Very large, well appointed room with kitchenette facilities. Attentive staff, very clean. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. There is no gym, if that is important. Easy to take public transportation into the city center. The local bus runs about every 5-7 minutes. Very convenient for the Buda side to visit the sights there. We travel internationally a lot and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    114
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
92
237
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel's is situated in the upper class and historical site, staff is helpful. We booked the gold suite through luxury link and the price is so good. Kitchen is equipped with all facilities, staying there with home feeling.
Surrounding area is so beautiful and full of history, it is so peaceful and good choice for romantic getaways

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stusyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nove Zamky, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We booked a suite at Buda Castle hotel, for New Years Eve, but fortunately when we arrived to Budapest, this hotel had no room availble but they change our reservation to the S. George Residence.

-Location: Close to the Buda monuments. You can visit everything there by walking. For going to Pest, you can walk 10-15 minutes to the Chain Bridge and then cross it. But the Bus 16 every 5-10 minutes is driving you faster and easier. The bus stop is just 2 minutes walking from the hotel.

-Room: Our room, like all, was a Suite. There were a living room of about 30 m2, one bed room of about 15-20 m2, one small dressing room and the bathroom.

-Living Room: There were one small kitchen (that we didn't use), one table with chairs, one computer's table and 2 small armchairs. I missed one sofa and a nespresso or similar coffee machine, like in other hotels of its category.

-Bedroom: Twin beds. I would have prefer having a Queen/king Size Bed, but it was not a problem. The matress was confortable, with several pillows. TV with international channels in the bedroom.

-Bathroom: Normal, one bath without hydromassage or jacuzzi. No curtain for the shower. Bath gel, shampoo, shower cap, comb...

-Furnitures: Old style furnitures. we like it very much. The only issue was the bible in the draw of the bed table. Why a bible and not something more useful like a porn magazine?

-Restaurant: We only had breakfast in the hotel. The worst of the hotel. It seems like 3 stars hotel: Scrambled eggs, some ham, cheese and few things more. It was poor.

-Wifi: No free wifi. We didn't ask for it, so I don't know if you must pay for connection.

- Personal: Was nice and try to be helpful, but didn't gave us correct information. We asked them how to go to Pest, and they told us to take bus 16. This is correct. We asked where to buy the ticket, and they told us: In the bus without problems. It's not correct. In this bus you cannot buy the ticket. so we traveled without ticket. We asked for the laberinth, and they told us that was closed since time ago. We found it walking and It was opened, but maybe we shouldn't have go into it.

Final opinion: It's like a three-four stars hotel, which tries to be old styled and get a five star, but should improve somehow to achieve it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erpelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a modern hotel cleverly built into an eighteenth-century building in Old Buda. Our room was huge -- with kitchen facilities as well. The bathroom was, of course, flawless! The staff were invariably cheerful and helpful -- willing to phone around for information for us, etc., etc. The hotel has a restaurant -- serviceable food with cheerful helpful service. (But the area has lots of excellent restaurants.) Getting to Pest is a challenge -- until you know to walk down the street to near the National Gallery to take the little funicular and walk across the Chain Bridge. (Great views!) We thoroughly enjoyed this elegant charming hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed 5 nights from November 29 ,2011 in a Gold Suite
This is a different type of hotels,the moment you enter the huge old wooden door you find yourself in a true elegant place.White marble staircase takes you to the first floor where the suites . Only suites, large living room ,with kitchenette, dining table,reading desk.From the living room you find the bedroom. The place is so comfortable ,that you would prefer to spend more time in the suite. Very good service.
The building is old, but nicely renovated with good taste, it would be recommended to fit in a small elevator as you have to climb over 20 stairs to reach your floor carrying your luggage.
The main dining room gives the feeling that your are in the 19th century.
The place in reality looks much better than what is displayed in the web site

Room Tip: All the suites are similar but vary in the floor area,ranging from 45 sq mt to 65 sq mt I had suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASGadELmawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great location - only a few minutes walk from Hilton Buda.
The hotel has a real character and good service from the staff.
Highly reccommended for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkihabaraDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I wnet there with a friend of mine and was amazed at the size of the rooms.. though i did not have breakfast there I was told that it was OK for a 5 star property.... Its located on the Buda hill so gets quiet at night so if u r like some activity late night , then stay at pest side...

the hotel and staff and nice , friendly...no complaints from the place except the location..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#69 of 334 in Budapest
123 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,131 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Property: St. George Residence
Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing