We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“truly remarkable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #84 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“truly remarkable!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a modern hotel cleverly built into an eighteenth-century building in Old Buda. Our room was huge -- with kitchen facilities as well. The bathroom was, of course, flawless! The staff were invariably cheerful and helpful -- willing to phone around for information for us, etc., etc. The hotel has a restaurant -- serviceable food with cheerful helpful service. (But the area has lots of excellent restaurants.) Getting to Pest is a challenge -- until you know to walk down the street to near the National Gallery to take the little funicular and walk across the Chain Bridge. (Great views!) We thoroughly enjoyed this elegant charming hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    112
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
90
232
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed 5 nights from November 29 ,2011 in a Gold Suite
This is a different type of hotels,the moment you enter the huge old wooden door you find yourself in a true elegant place.White marble staircase takes you to the first floor where the suites . Only suites, large living room ,with kitchenette, dining table,reading desk.From the living room you find the bedroom. The place is so comfortable ,that you would prefer to spend more time in the suite. Very good service.
The building is old, but nicely renovated with good taste, it would be recommended to fit in a small elevator as you have to climb over 20 stairs to reach your floor carrying your luggage.
The main dining room gives the feeling that your are in the 19th century.
The place in reality looks much better than what is displayed in the web site

Room Tip: All the suites are similar but vary in the floor area,ranging from 45 sq mt to 65 sq mt I had suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASGadELmawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great location - only a few minutes walk from Hilton Buda.
The hotel has a real character and good service from the staff.
Highly reccommended for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkihabaraDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I wnet there with a friend of mine and was amazed at the size of the rooms.. though i did not have breakfast there I was told that it was OK for a 5 star property.... Its located on the Buda hill so gets quiet at night so if u r like some activity late night , then stay at pest side...

the hotel and staff and nice , friendly...no complaints from the place except the location..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I could imagine nothing better. Situated in the prettiest and most authentic area of Budapest. A real gem of a hotel - boutique hotel more like it. As this was actually an old inn, it doesn't have to pretend or adjust. You literally sink in to the Austro-Hungarian era, alas no carriage awaits you in the garage. The staff is nice and homey, and the street itself offers some excellent eating. An absolute splurge for about 100 euros. Can't find better. I actually waited till now to write the review, thinking that the charm will perhaps wear off once we got back to real life - but it hasn't . I actually miss it.
Go! Don't hesitate for a minute.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruripen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in November. We stayed in room 1, and cannot fault it at all, the roooms are absolutely massive and there was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room also when we arrived that was a nice touch! There was a massive bathroom, and 2 sinks in it with 2 lots of toiletries, the bath was massive also. The kitchen had a table and chairs in it. the maid left us complimentary chocolate each also!
This is an ideal location for the castle and Hospital in the wall. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate which was nice.
Would definitelly highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great location, beautiful room, very helpful staff; really bad mattress, crummy breakfast and room was too hot ( we asked for the thermostat to be adjusted but the temperature didn't change).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emna3396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#97 of 342 in Budapest
88 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
3,975 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 342 in Budapest
659 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#50 of 342 in Budapest
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Property: St. George Residence
Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#61 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing