We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Monarchia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$279
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$128
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$212
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$230
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
1
5
16
23
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
5
16
23
68
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 113 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just back from a week in Budapest in this terrible so-called hotel.
We were given a "room" on the 3rd floor which actually was a standard flat, including kitchen, living room turned into a bedroom, second bedroom, ... The place was clean and huge but...
a) There was no airco which forced us to leave the windows open not to die (+42°C), which in turn made it impossible to sleep before 1:00AM (Vaci Utca is the busiest pedestrian street of Budapest).
b) Since the windows did not have proper curtains, anyone from the opposite buildings could look at us on our bed and...daylight woke us up at 4:00AM.
We complmained the next day and were given a very nice room on the ground floor. This room was just perfect but unless we complained we probably would not have been given it. My advice ask for or the following rooms: 7, 8 or 9 (ours).

As for the restaurant, it is clearly a rip off. While we had our only meal there, the first one, complaints about the invoice came from two tables. Check places like La Coppola instead.

Finally, when my credit card receipt came in, I realised we had also been ripped off on the hotel bill. Price indicated when booking was 273€ but they converted this into Forints (Hungarian currency) at an incredible rate which resulted in a cost of 338€ on my credit card, thus almost a 25% increase.
Nevertheless, considering that this hotel is located in one of the most convenient areas of Budapest, is cheap, and may even be a nice place to stay if you get the proper room, I would recommend:
- a) make sure to get one of rooms 7, 8, or 9
- b) make sure to pay in euros
- c) stay away from the restaurant

If not, run away.

Room Tip: DO NOT get any other room than number 7, 8 or 9.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and me wanted to take a look at Budapest. We decided shortly and ran into this location. The main importance for us was that it was in the center and not too expensive. But next time we will read the reviews more carefully.
When we came to the "hotel" (some rooms in a normal house above the same called restaurant, where you also get the key for your room. The guy who gave us the key for the room - after waiting more then half an hour although we came by 4:30pm - was the only one speaking enough english to understand what we wanted there. The room was ok. The shower has no curtain, but the bad thing is that the water needs hours to drain off. So after the first shower we had water everywhere from the bath, the toiliett (in the same room) and in the entrance. The next day we wanted to tell somebody about the problems, but by 11am we couldn't find someone to talk with.
The door handle also was not fixed and after we got back this day from our tour through the city, the room was not cleaned. Luckily we stayed only two nights. Not more, no more!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank August59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

'Hotel' very centrally placed and the room itself was spacious and clean when we arrived. However there were several lamps missing, the shower could only be used by holding the shower head. the tv didn't work, hot water was not always available, and our room was never visited by a cleaner in the 5 nights we were there. The owner also runs the restaurant below, plus another about 200 yards away. We think he had the 'hotel' just to get more cash. But renting the room was very cheap (late Sept) so we just used it as a base. We never used the restaurant as it didn't look too clean. Look in some of the smaller side streets to find better value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmhMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Seriously avoid this restaurant unless you want to be over charged, underserved and left feeling very frustrated !! The homemade soup was straight out of a packet and served with stale bread. Hungarian Goulash was a joke and veg & patatoes were charged as 2 extra portions. No price list given with the drinks so a large beer was nearly €8 as was a glass of wine. I have no problem paying this money once I know the cost in advance. The waiters couldn't have cared less and said they never had a complaint about the food before - reeding these reviews I'm just laughing as they must hear the same complaints everyday !!

A few 100 yards away is a street called Raday Street (about 50yards from Kalvin Metro Station) with a great selection of good quality restaurants and quirky bars for all different price ranges. It's welcome oasis from the crap food and poor service you get from a lot of the places on Vaci Street!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Rathcoole24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We wouldn't have booked it if we read the reviews, we forced to give them a chance. I still don't recommend this 'hotel' at all. The location itself is great-walking distance to many sites, shops, restos. Everything was clean. It's just a couple of rooms in an apartment building above a restaurant so there weren't any staff to look after guests. If you want something keep bugging the English speaking waiters/managers for eg. new towels, toilet paper, &hot water. We asked for hot water everyday for 5 days! On our last night, we had to ask 4x to no avail until I made a huge racket. It seems like we were forced to make a scene to get any assistance. Complain loudly if things get bad!

Room Tip: It's noisy until 1am. Be persistent if you need service. Keep the key on you.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizzario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews