We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Origo Hostel & Guesthouse
Ranked #183 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were a bit dubious as to what the hostel would be like considering we got our price for 6euro per night but it was/is fantastic, the staff (especiallz annamaria) were so helpful and answered all questions and helped in anyway they could. The bathrooms were great, beds comfy and facililties good. Location was excellent as well. (best hostel so far)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

With my friends, we enjoyed our stay in the hostel. It had the important things we needed during our stay. Welcoming and helpful staff, clean enviroment, comfortable room, wifi, maps of the city, located next to the Parliament and the sightseeing buses went right from the corner. Everything else was up to us to enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: green room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our second stop on our way to Istanbul. The hostel is in a great location near the Parliament building and St Stephens Cathedral. It is also just a block away from great views of the Danube and Buda.There are many restaurants and cafes close by.

The hostel was good value for money. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable We had the velvet room facing the street and had no problems sleeping.

Room Tip: This is a small hostel with five rooms. I had a look at two of the other rooms and they seemed fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is terrible & the owner a cheat - avoid it like hell!... I booked a double room for single use with a double bed. Was given a crummy, very dark and narrow room with 2 single beds put in a line by the wall and a window which opened into a corridor. When I refused to stay here, the owner told me that he'll change it the next day. I stayed for 4 nights ( because I was charged already at booking ) & the next day never came. The room was stuffy & hot as the window opens into the courtyard... What really got to me was the arrogance and sheer fraudulent - I don't care attitude of this man. I do not recommend this place and advise you not to go there!...The building is dilapidated and there is no sign to tell you that you reached the place... Don't go there!...Mr Laszlo, u're a thief & crappy fraud !!...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hostel have a great location, just few steps from the parliament. Rooms are nice, clean and there are 2 bathrooms, kitchen and a balcony.
Rooms are clean but bathrooms would need more attention.
Staff is friendly and helpfull but this is not a place if you want to get some sleep. The velvet, blue and green rooms are facing the busy street and are located just above 3 bars that are open whole night and are full of noisy taxi drivers.
It is almost impossible to sleep here and booking othe room is not always a solution. I've booked a red one but was given a velvet one instead, so there is no guarantee that you will be given the room you have booked.
Thanks to that I will not stay there anymore.

Room Tip: the wall between velvet and green room is so thick that you can hear everything ! The velvet, blue a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kotbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a very good hostel for the price we paid, the location was excellent and the facilities were more than adequate. Me and my friend did get a few bites, maybe from bed bugs, but i don't want to say for sure. There was a bar downstairs, it was a bit rough, but was nice enough to have a drink at the start of the night. The decor was pleasant, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Very good hostel and low fee. Near the Parliament the location is good and you can reach every part of the city. Rooms and kitchen are very clean and some food is for free. Free wifi connection and pc station. 15€ a night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mio1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Unity Hostel
#155 of 682 in Budapest
105 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#27 of 682 in Budapest
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 336 in Budapest
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origo Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origo Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: Nador u 34, 2nd floor, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $35 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Origo Hostel & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Origo Hostel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing