We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed, too hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Green Hotel
Ranked #267 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Hotel is conveniently located very close to Andrassy street and metro station, five minutes walking from Oktogon and Ferenc Liszt street restaurants and animation. Building looks recently refurbished and staff were correct.

During my stay there, temperatures were really high and the room -large and clean- had an air conditioned machine that only worked after an extra payment of 10 euro, something that looked greedy from hotel ownership.

Informations on hotel said that there is wifi on the rooms. There were no wifi in my room. A complimentary computer with high speed internet, located in the lobby, could be used by clients.

Breakfast were not impressive, but enough to begin the day with some energy.

A short walk from hotel is the House of Terror, the former secret police building, at Andrassy street. It is worth a visit, to know about recent Hungarian history.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank burgeluarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2007

The hotel is ok and the staff are very nice but don't stay there when the weather is hot! I stayed in July when the weather was hot and confirmed a room with air conditioning (which costs EUR10 more) but upon arrival was told that they had given this room away. In the room the temperature overnight was over 35 degrees celcius and impossible to sleep, during the day it was even hotter and not pleasant to stay.
All rooms on the top floor and probably some others are not air conditioned and it is impossible to use the wireless internet connection from there. Their wireless internet connection is free but doesn't allow VPN access, so forget about getting your email from work!
Breakfast was included but is very basic with bread, 3 cereals and diluted juice.
There are better places in Hungary to stay for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GrantSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We don’t recommend staying here. While the location is good, the hotel engages in several practices that are unfair or otherwise frustrating. First, and most importantly, they charge an extra 10 euros a night (about 14 US dollars) for air conditioning, which is necessary if you are staying during July or August. The rooms are stifling hot without it.
You’ll be notified of this extra a/c charge only after checking in – we booked our reservations two months before and were never told of this (we originally paid $422 for four nights in mid July, 2007, and just returned from Budapest).
Additionally, our room wasn’t cleaned regularly and the bathroom shower stall leaked all over the room. Finally, the hotel will only reserve cabs to the airport using a company that charges twice (yes, twice!) the rate other companies charge: 6,000 florints rather than 3,000 florints.
The staff I spoke to admitted that the a/c charge and cab policy were unfair, but did nothing about it.
Avoid this place.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EV1Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed here 4 nights, and were mostly happy with the room.
The hotel is a decent distance from the downtown tourist area, but a 5 minute walk from one of the metro stops. (Be willing to walk if you stay here) The room was nice, and that they went out of their way to give us a room near enough to the lobby to access Wi-Fi was very much appreciated. The breakfast was tasty if boring by the last day.

The few downsides:
-Housekeeping kept forgetting one or two small things each day. It meant an extra trip to the lobby each day when we figured out what we were missing (often toilet paper).
-The shower door is terrible. It was so easy to knock it open without noticing. As a result, we flooded our bathroom a few times.
-It was really hot, with no way to cool down the room.

Other than those things, which weren't that big a deal overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NotACreativeName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

When we arrived it was very hot & our rooms had no aircon which we thought we had booked. Fortunately, the weather cooled down after a massive thunder storm on the first night and the rest of the stay was very pleasant. The rooms were simple, but well furnished and clean. The hotel had recently opened when we stayed there and some of the fixtures and trimmings were obviously finished in haste. The staff were very friendly and helpful, booking day trips and offering advice about where to go and what to see. Breakfast was basic, but of good quality and enough variety to cater for vegetarians. We were able to walk into the centre of the city easily, but the metro line is worth a look if you get a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Amber665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Just arrived this morning from a 5-days trip to Budapest. We (4 girls) really enjoyed our stay there, we visited as much as one can do in 5 days (walked almost 20kms per day), but it was worth it. We stayed at the Central Dominik Panzio, a small but coquette 3* hotel with a great location in the heart of Pest, and a very polite and helpful staff. The rooms were large enough, very clean and airy; an inconvenience was with breakfast, same thing every morning, but we didn't mind it so much. The location is great, the metro just 1 minute away, and in 10 minutes you are in Buda. I higly recommend it for everyone who wants to have a great time in Budapest (just ask for Romulus Varga)

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cristina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: non prenderlo in considerazione
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Rila Hotel
#244 of 334 in Budapest
90 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#212 of 334 in Budapest
670 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#249 of 334 in Budapest
221 reviews
Green Hotel
#239 of 334 in Budapest
188 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#127 of 334 in Budapest
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Green Hotel

Address: Sziv utca 13, Budapest 1063, Hungary (Formerly Central Dominik Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $32 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Dominik Panzio Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing