We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
707
18
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsother guestsb bscarried our bagsluggage upstairsno elevatorrooftop terraceplace to stayprivate batheach morningterror museumgave us a mapgreat hoststop floorhome away from homedeluxe roomszechenyi baths
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 727 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

A great boutique B&B in Budapest. We were well looked after by Albert during a long weekend last February ( apologies for the late review). The room was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated, breakfast was prepared and cook fresh every morning and the location of the B&B was ideal to explore the city. We had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed three nights with Albert and we really, really enjoyed it.

First, not enough can be said about Albert himself. He's young and energetic (very responsive online and always a telephone call away when you are there for questions or problems), he speaks English with almost no accent, he's personable and cool. Unlike a lot of hosts who make you wonder why they would be doing this when they so clearly do not enjoy it, Albert seems to genuinely enjoy chatting with his guests about what they want to do during the day and how he might help them find where they want to go. He even shows you pictures of the Google street view of places so you will recognize them. He also seems interested in things you might have discovered on your own that you would recommend to others. He goes way beyond what you would expect (he actually made egg white omelets just for us and did a load of laundry for us which I couldn't believe).

As for the place itself, it is an old building built around a courtyard. It is located in a very central area close to public transportation right around the corner from the House of Terror but not touristy. While it is true that it is several flights up (with no elevator), once you step inside it is gleaming and modern. Breakfast is served in a huge kitchen where everyone sits around a kitchen bar and watches as Albert cooks up whatever you have ordered. He has a fabulous coffee machine (the kind that grinds the beans fresh) for whenever you want coffee (there is also tea) and you are welcome to whatever is in the fridge upstairs by the rooftop guest balcony (complete with large TV and lots of DVDs). There is also an office with computer and printer.

We really lucked out because he had a last minute cancellation and we got the two bedroom suite which was absolutely beautiful with two separate bedrooms, a living room with flat screen TV and even a table and chairs for eating. Everything was new and clean, decorated beautifully (very contemporary), and absolutely seemed of the highest quality.

There is no question that we would stay here again when we go to Budapest. Albert, thanks for all your kindnesses and I hope you let us show you our little corner of the world if you get to California.

Sid and Antonia

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you (or you just want a beautiful place) definitely get the suite.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

What can I say? Stunning suite; epic terrace; phenomenal location; and Albert, the host with the most whose attention to detail is something really special - genuinely sad to say goodbye to Kapital at the end of our stay

Wonderful four nights, we loved every minute and can't wait for the next

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StephenMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights. Albert was a great host - informative and easy to talk to. Very helpful with making needed phone calls and with giving instructions on how various sites in town operate. Great variety of choices for breakfast, comfortable bed, good location. We stayed in one of the rooms with a shared bath and have no complaints about sharing. The only thing that I think would improve the room is a hook or peg, perhaps on the door, on which one could hang clothes, as there is no room for an armoire or closet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaleighFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights in Budapest during our first visit to Hungary. We are so glad we chose this B&B over the larger hotels as it could not have been more prefect. Albert has an amazing property, beautifully decorated with all modern touches such as Wi-Fi, coffee machines and modern bathrooms. He helped us to arrange an airport transfer & was there to welcome us with maps & lots of info about Budapest. It always great when you are in a capital city to have some 'inside info' about the best places to visit - we certainly wouldn't have found some of the gems without his guidance. We also had some great chats over delicious breakfast's about the history of Hungary and Budapest itself. Albert is such an interesting person to talk to & he can help with arranging almost anything from tickets to the city sights to which bars are the best to visit. He even supplied us with a guidebook which really helped in getting to know the city. The rooftop terrace was a welcome area to relax with coffee's after an evening out or a visit to Szencheny baths ( a must do even if you think it's not your thing - Albert will advise on the best times to visit). We hope to return to Budapest in the future & wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
Thank you Albert we had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with our own ensuite
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizzlyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews