We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of Kapital Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kapital Inn
Ranked #1 of 186 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently spent several days in Budapest at Kapital Inn. I can honestly say that every recommendation that Albert made was spot on.He mapped out walking tours of everything we wanted to see,made great recommendations for eating out and when we wanted to go to the baths even pulled up an overhead view of the baths on Google maps and showed us just which door to use to avoid the lines. The Inn is conveniently located,just blocks from Oktogon,and within walking distance of everything. The inn is charmingly furnished,spotlessly clean,with a nice outside terrace. But the most important thing about the inn is the innkeeper Albert, He is always available and goes out of his way to insure that his guests have a memorable experience. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkck1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
398
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

you must stay at this hotel if you visit budapest. The room was nice great shower etc great breakfast with freshly prepared eggs.
Albert the owner spent time giving us great tips for our visit including highlighting a walking tour on our map
Albert encouraged us to visit the baths and explained how it all worked.You do have to be able to walk up 4 flights of stairs and we would say it was well worth it.
Albert is a great host and made our trip special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touristsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We cannot say enough about how much we loved stating at Kapital Inn. With the unusual snowfall in late March we were not sure what time we would arrive. Albert was super flexible and waiting out front when we pulled up. He took care of on-street parking (obtaining 24 hour tickets from parking meter machines) and hauled our suitcases up.

Everyone's comments about Albert's breakfasts and omelets are an understatement. You won't need lunch afterwards! He explained how to use the Metro system (only one block away) and gave us excellent advice on a trip to the outdoor mineral baths Budapest is famous for. The location is perfect combined with the easy access to the Metro (the oldest subway line in Europe). Only 5-10 minutes to old town shopping areas and one transfer to the Castle District on the Buda side of the Danube.

Every restaurant he recommended was excellent. We suggest you make a reservation for most of them if it is a weekend night as they are all popular. We saw that Albert provided suggestions unique to each person or couple that was staying there, making sure each guest had the best time possible.

We are looking forward to returning to Budapest and staying at the Kapital Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smshiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We like to stay in bed and breakfast because at the better ones the owners offer a level of personal service unfound at big hotels. The Kapital Inn's owner, Albert, hit the mark here in a big way. The "relationship" with him begins with emails when he'll help you plan your itinerary and continues in person with restaurant suggestions, tips and even emergency help. (We called him from inside a taxi that couldn't find our address). He waits for you each morning with Hungarian pastries and such great conversation that you are almost loath to go out sightseeing! The bed and breakfast's locaiton is excellent and the rooms pleasant. The outdoor terrace looked lovely, but it was way too cold to consider sitting out there. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colprubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

High standard accommodation with good central location. Great recommendations from Albert made staying here a pleasure.
Lot's of excellent restaurants are very close to the accommodation and Budapest city centre can be accessed on foot from the B&B's location.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbernauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed with Albert in Budapest over New Years Eve time and it was wonderful!! The rooms are fantastic, great accomodations. Albert is a great Innkeeper - he always made sure we had what we needed, breakfast was always fresh and delicious. Albert was extrememly helpful in helping us plan our days and what were great things to see and do. Great person, excellent accomodations. Our four year old son keeps saying, out of all the places we went to on our Christmas holiday, that Albert and Budapest are his favorites!! Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As you have probably already read the reviews this B&B is fantastic.
On our arrival Albert was at the door as we pulled up, taking our suitcases and carrying them up the huge flight of stairs, our room was very nice, quiet and cosy the ensuite was great with a huge shower. Albert helped plan our stay and we managed to see everything we possibly could in the short time we were there, we even managed to fit in the spa bath which is a must.
The Kapital Inn is a short walk to Bars, Restaurants, Shops and museums. We walked practically everywhere, but public transport is a stones throw away if needed.
Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, pastries, and Alberts omelette..
I would hightly recommend the Kapital Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ensuite which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#9 of 333 in Budapest
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapital Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapital Inn

Property: Kapital Inn
Address: Aradi utca 30 | 3/15, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapital Inn is a boutique B&B located inside an elegant 19th century building in one of the finest neighborhoods in the heart of Budapest. The owner is a professionally trained Hungarian chef and former executive of an internationally renowned 5-star hotel. We own the entire top floor of this building and it includes a private 600 square foot roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kapital Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing