We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomodations!!!”
Review of Kapital Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapital Inn
Ranked #1 of 196 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Albert has transformed this older building into a spectacular BandB. Our room, decorated in soothing blues and browns, came with a laptop(with free wifi) and a large flat-screen t.v. The large bathroom reminded me more of a N.Y. boutique hotel with glass subway tiles, a large shower and beautiful fixtures. A full kitchen with all sorts of snacks and drinks was available for all guests. Albert was so helpful; full of knowledge about the city and pointing us toward great restaurants and sights in Budapest. Don't be deterred by the fact that this Inn is on the 4th floor-after all the wonderful food and pastries, a little exercise was welcome.

Room Tip: Request the rooms with the private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamamom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 678 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you are like me, you spend a great deal of time researching accommodations through Trip Advisor, guide books and other sources looking for the best accommodation at the best price—well, if you are looking for a room in Budapest save your time and look no further—this is our all time favourite B&B!! A perfect blend of sophistication and comfort in a quiet, safe and great location, we felt very much at home here during our too short 2 night stay. We found everything we wanted to see was within walking distance...we didn't use public transportation or the car (which was parked right out front).

Upon arrival, Albert, the owner, listened to all the sights we wanted to see, laid out the city map and gave us a perfect plan to help us conquer that long list of sights to see in a logical, doable order. He also made recommendations and suggestions and told us a little about the Hungarian people. He is a perfect combination of informative, friendly, charismatic, cute and witty!!

This great intimate Inn has 4 lovely guest rooms (with central A/C—great to have during the hot snap!), a communal kitchen stocked with fruit, bread, pop and juice for guest consumption day or night, a lovely terrace with tables, chairs, sofa and TV (a perfect spot any time of day), a guest office with computer, printer, lots of guide books and DVD's. We were staying in one of the deluxe rooms with en suite with wonderful rain shower and an in-room laptop!! The Wi-Fi was fast and worked well in the room as well is in all the common areas. The first morning, along with all the other items (fruit, cereal, yogurt, breads, etc) we each enjoyed a delicious made to order (huge!) omelette on the terrace. The 2nd morning we said we'd share 4 scrambled eggs (I think he did double that)...he definitely doesn't want you to go away hungry. Always available for a chat, when Albert found out how much we enjoyed his recommendation of the opulent coffee / wine bar above Alexandra Book store he suggested more sumptuous sights, including the New York Cafe. (And yes, per his recommendation, we did the Szechenyi Baths and enjoyed our time there.)

Albert is an amazing host (Hungarian but with perfect English) from initial email through the unlimited assistance while in Budapest (getting the parking ticket, carrying the luggage, helping reserve and print tickets for a night cruise, sharing his favourite restaurant spots, etc—one night my husband sent a text message asking Albert if we needed cash for a certain restaurant or attraction and he immediately texted back the answer AND offered to come home if we needed him!!). The great service continued post trip when he sent me a recipe for Goulash Soup.

It's worth the walk up the 3 flights of stairs (no lift) to stay in this little oasis!! We would like to give this little gem of a B&B with the perfect host much more than a 5 star rating!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We're back in San Francisco from another Eastern European vacation. Budapest would not have been the wonderful experience without the Kapital Inn and Albert's gracious hospitality. It felt like home with his warm welcome and extensive knowledge of Budspest and its history. The Inn itself is charming, comfortable and extremely clean. A must for travelers like myself. If home is where the heart is, I whole heartedly reccommend Kapital Inn, whether you're visiting Budapest for a week or just passing through for a night. Thank you Albert, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWelchSFO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Have stayed at the Kapital Inn three times and plan to venture back for a fourth. Not only is this B&B ideally located, beautiful and full of charm, but Albert as your host will go above your needs to make sure you're well taken care of. Don't forget to check out the Terror Museum near the Kapital Inn. An extremely interesting and nicely laid out museum. Thanks, Albert!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room. Very homey and this place has a beautiful terrace. Can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Kapital in for four nights towards the end of June. All of the previous reviews comments are right on so I won't belabor those attributes. We had an unusual experience that says volumes for Albert's care of his guests. The last day of our stay my wife developed terrible stomach pains, the kind you might get if you had food poisoning. After a few hours of pain we decided my wife needed to see a Dr. Albert arranged an appointment for us at an American clinic, mind you it was in the early evening. He went with us by taxi to the clinic and stayed in the waiting room the entire time (about 2 hours). It turns out the diagnosis was a kidney stone. When the Dr. gave us a prescription, Albert insisted on running out to the pharmacy to pick it up while I paid the bill and my wife got ready to leave. He then road back with us in the taxi. It's a bit scary getting sick in a foreign place but having Albert there really reduced the stress level.

I think this degree of care tells you what kind of individual Albert is and the kind of hospitality you will get if you stay at his B&B. Of course I hope nobody has to experience what we did with Albert!

To Albert, thank you for your help. We will always remember your act of kindness and care.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived (literally; Albert met our taxi, helped us navigate a tricky payment to the driver -the credit card machine in the cab didn't work), we felt extremely welcome and well-cared for by our host. The Inn is immaculate and comfortable. It's location is perfect - on a quiet street but within walking distance to everything. Albert's guidance on sight-seeing and restaurants was really helpful. His warmth and graciousness make him the perfect host. You will be delighted with your stay - look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I agree with all previous reviews. This place is very cozy, welcoming and stylish. Albert is a wonderful host and a charming person to talk to. We loved his wry comments about life in the "commie" days. We went to Budapest near the end of a three week trip and we were a bit travel-weary. We enjoyed relaxing up on the rooftop terrace and chatting with Albert and other guests. We truly enjoyed Budapest and I think the hospitality we got at Kapital Inn was a big part of that. I have one small area for improvement. While our room (a very stylish double with bath) was lovely, the lighting needed improvement. When it was night time, there wasn't enough light for reading or doing any detail work.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Budapest.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice. The rooms closest to the breakfast room might be a little bit noisier for lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,498 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,296 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapital Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapital Inn

Address: Aradi utca 30 | 3/15, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $98 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapital Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapital Inn is a boutique B&B located inside an elegant 19th century building in one of the finest neighborhoods in the heart of Budapest. The owner is a professionally trained Hungarian chef and former executive of an internationally renowned 5-star hotel. We own the entire top floor of this building and it includes a private 600 square foot roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kapital Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing