We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a beautiful city - Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atrium Fashion Hotel
Ranked #84 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a beautiful city - Good location”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Fashion Atrium Hotel between 3rd and 5th and March 2013 as part of a twin city break deal from Citrus Holidays.

Entrance/Lobby

The exterior of the hotel is pretty and clean. Glass entrance doors give it a classy modern feel.
The whole of the ground floor is open plan, split level. The reception area is brightly decorated with lime green and cyan blue accents. Everything looked very clean and the ladies behind the reception desk were smartly dressed.
Adjacent to the reception is a tourist information area with leaflets on all the local attractions and sites.

Hotel Room

The hotel has a floor to ceiling atrium over the breakfast/bar area and many of the room look out over this. As a result I do not think these rooms have windows and from what we saw they were quite small. Our room, however, was at the front of hotel and had two floor to ceiling windows (lots of natural light).

The room was spacious which was great as 3 of us shared it. It had 3 single beds and still plenty of room to move about.
It was decorated in light gray and pink colours. Not really the colour scheme I would go for but the room was clean and tidy nonetheless.

The room was equipped with:
• Desk and chair
• Flat screen TV (information about the hotel’s WiFi is on the hotel’s dedicated channel)
• Tea/Coffee making facilities (There is no milk, only coffee cream provided)
• Welcome pack with information about the local area and sites, including a useful map)
• Mini bar (Be careful about buying food and drink from outside of the hotel and leaving the packaging in the room as they will assume it is from the mini bar. They tried to charge us for a bottle of water that we had purchased from a local store)
• Safe in the wardrobe

The bathroom was well lit and roomy. A large basin area with storage underneath for our wash bags however there were no complimentary toiletries which I feel let this hotel down a little bit.
There was a hairdryer and also a magnifying mirror.
The bath/shower was great.

As with most hotels there is an unwritten rule regarding the towels. If you use a towel and hang it up to dry the housekeeping staff will assume you want to use it again. If you want fresh towels then leave them on the floor or in the bath.

Breakfast

The breakfast room is at the centre of the atrium and is therefore very light. It’s an extremely modern area with a rather odd clock. The hour and minute hands are on the one side and a huge swinging pendulum acts as the second hand on the other side.

The breakfast buffet itself was quite small but as we stayed during low season we weren’t exactly fighting over the last croissant. The selection of food was good.
• Hot food (eggs, sausages etc.)
• A bakery section with bread, cheese scones and pastries
• Selection of cold meats and cheeses as well as a fridge full of yoghurt
• Fresh fruit and preserves such as jams, honey and chocolate spread
• Tea, coffee and fruit juice

Staff

The hotel staff were very friendly. Check-in was quick and simple.
The ladies behind the reception desk were knowledgeable about local restaurants and how to get to different tourist spots.

As mentioned before, when we checked –out the reception did try to charge us for a large bottle of water that we had bought from a local store (a bottle that size wouldn’t even fit in the mini bar!). We insisted that we had taken nothing from mini bar and they did agree to remove the charge.

We never saw a member of the housekeeping staff as we were out in the city all day but the room was always immaculate when we returned so no complaints there.

Hotel Locality

The hotel is perfectly positioned in the city. The nearest metro station (Blaha –metro line 2) was literally a 2 minute walk. A bus stop and tram stop are also very nearby.

The weather was really lovely during our stay so we preferred to walk and on most days we followed the same route as the metro line 2 which goes straight down to the Elizabeth Bridge. We then walked along the river to the Chain Bridge. By metro this journey would take 10-15 minutes max. but walking took about 45 minutes. It was a nice way to take in the scenery though (and work off all the cakes).

There are plenty of shops including well known high street stores and fast food venues just a stone’s throw from the hotel.

Helpful Hints

• A 24 hour tram line sits just outside the hotel. The rooms are fairly soundproofed and we did not find that the tram disturbed out sleep but if you are a light sleeper then I suggest you ask for a room that over-looks the atrium, not the street.

• When you check-in a compulsory deposit of 6000 HUF is taken for the mini bar. Provided you do not use anything from the mini bar this deposit will be returned in full when you check-out.

• Budapest Cards can be purchased from the hotel reception. These include use of all transport, 2 free walking tours, zoo entrance and discounts of many other things. We felt it was worth while purchasing this. The card can be purchased for 24hr, 48hr (river cruise is included in this) and 72 hour. We can definitely recommend the Budapest walking tour.

Over all we greatly enjoyed our stay in Budapest. The city, it’s people and it’s food were wonderful. I would definitely return and I would have no problem booking another stay in the Fashion Atrium Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over-looking the atrium are smaller and darker. Rooms with windows to the outside and larger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aprilshowers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    568
    200
    54
    20
See reviews for
133
626
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I often travel to Budapest, and always like to stay near Blaha Lujza ter. There are transit connections to everywhere in the city, and there are many hotels near this main square. However, I never knew the Atrium Fashion Hotel was there until recently, so this was my first time staying at this property.

I had a very pleasant stay at the Atrium Fashion. It is not visible from the main streets, but the walk is only about one block. My room was fine - it was quiet and the temperature was fine for me. The wifi worked well and there were electrical plugs next to the bed so I could charge my phone. The shower worked well enough, although the drain was very slow. There was a small flat-screen television, but I did not watch it. Overall, the room was fine - the 4-star rating would set expectations a bit too high, but it was a comfortable, pleasant stay.

One of the highlights was breakfast, which was included in my rate. It was a full buffet, and nicer than I had expected.

As someone who stays often in this area, I can recommend the Atrium Fashion Hotel, and will be considering this for my next visit. Other comparable hotels in the area typically charge extra for the breakfast, so this gives the Atrium a nice competitive advantage. I am sure that I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Atrium back at the start of December 2012. Clean, bright, modern hotel, nice breakfast, staff pleasant. Rooms modern and comfortable, bit wierd not having any window to the outside - could get quite hot/stuffy during summer but really your not going to spend much time in your room so does it really matter. Hotel walkable to city centre and river. Budapest is an amazing city and especially at that time of year when the Christmas Market is on. Would stay there again. Tip - there is a board next to the lift which has loads of discount cards for attractions its worth having a look at them, we went to Monument Park and could've saved ourselves about £20 if we'd picked up one of these up beforehand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAQ1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 night package in this very clean and modern hotel. The rooms though small were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was a very pleasant surprise thinking that it would only be continental, but each morning hot traditional fare was on offer. Reception staff were very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. The Atrium is on a street which is a bit run-down, but a few years ago the Atrium was the same but has been renovated in great style. It is conveniently placed for public transport but is a bit of a trek if you want to walk to the Danube. Criticisms, if any, are 1) Little ventilation in the shower room and 2) Usual mega prices of mini-bar. Surely if they were more reasonable more people would use them. However, that said it would not stop us from recommending the Atrium.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLM1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everything was good - room nice, people nice, breakfast nice. Reasonably well located. There is a downside in that the road one usually uses is 150m of tatty - one expects to see dossers and down and outs - but it is a fairly main tram route so it is only appearance.
Coming again to Budapest I would either chose this hotel, or splash out on one of the superb 5 star hotels in the centre. You would be lucky to find better in this range.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked short break and didn't know what to expect. What a great little hotel, and so close to everything. Staff are great, couldn't have been more helpful. Stay here again? Yes indeed. We have already asked about coming back to Budapest and we agreed that this hotel would get serious consideration again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 334 in Budapest
1,426 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#63 of 334 in Budapest
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#82 of 334 in Budapest
969 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 334 in Budapest
1,136 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Fashion Hotel

Property: Atrium Fashion Hotel
Address: Csokonai utca 14, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Budapest
#61 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#81 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrium Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh is the keyword. Impressive design with the latest fashion in colour schemes and upholstery. Atrium Fashion Hotel represents an efficient and modern style among the chic 4 star hotels in Budapest. Built to blend a wide range of facilities and stylish interior design with a charming atmosphere, the hotel offers unique lodging experience in Budapest, suitable for business travellers, families or groups. The stylishly-decorated, bright couloured rooms feature LCD TV, WiFi access, safe, telephone, minibar, hair-dryer. Sound-proofed windows combined with our large and airy atrium provide an oasis of peace in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing