We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hédi, Agnes & their staff take the place from simply nice to unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Ranked #98 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hédi, Agnes & their staff take the place from simply nice to unforgettable”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed here recently, and arrived in the morning by train when Hédi was at the hostel. The plan was to rent the apartment (which is actually half a block from the hostel) but it was not available until the next day, so we decided to grin-and-bear-it for one night until we could check into the apartment. Here are some observations & comments from our stay:

- The staff is incredible. They are very warm, very accommodating & make it seem like nothing is an imposition while you are their guests. They are also delightful to chat with, and gave us some fantastic recommendations for food & bars.
- The hostel is not as new as it appears in the photos, but it's clean, has a warm look & feel, a tiny toilet (but decent size baths), and was pretty quiet & chill when we were there (however, it must be said that we were NOT there during peak tourist season). Unfortunately, since I have not stayed at any other hostels, I cannot really comment about how much better or worse this is than other places. But one of the members of our party was impressed with the quality of this "hostel" & said it was pretty nice, comparatively speaking.
- The apartment is also nice - spacious (bedroom is the smallest room), clean, and furnished with IKEA and old-ish furniture. The bed creaks pretty loudly, btw. The bathroom & kitchen are very clean (very important to some, so I take pains to point this out). At this moment, there seems to be some construction going on right next to the apartment, so if you're not early risers, it could tick you off.
- The free internet in both the hostel & the apartment are great - we did not experience spotty wi-fi at all.

Having gotten out of the way the necessary items which one is honor bound to warn others of in an honest review, I want to put down some things that will ensure that I will stay here again & again:

- The apartment is fantastically located, and the building seems pretty secure with quiet residents. Also, it's within easy distance of the Lehel tér market, which is an inexpensive & great market. And also close to a pretty big mall (which seems no different than any mall in any other country).
- To compensate for no washer/dryer in the apartment, the ladies will be good enough to do your laundry for you should you choose to take them up on that offer.
- The staff that work there go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. From having to move your reservation at the last minute for whatever reason, to making sure you don't get ripped off with cab companies by calling one for you, you are in good hands.
- They have a masseur come in for in-hostel or in-apartment massages if you like. I had to cancel mine due to other plans, but I'm scheduling around that massage next time I'm over there!

All in all, a great stay with a very warm staff & reasonable rents. I'd definitely rent this place again if when I'm back in Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ostrich_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Travellers,
The guest photoes uploaded here about our Art Apartment are not valid anymore. We did some facelifting on this apartment. It looks very cool now and very comfortable for 4 person plus a baby. Check out the new management photoes about the "Art Apartment"!
Thank you!
Aventura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    42
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
40
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goes, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Both Hédi, Agnes and their staff do know how to run a hostel for sure.

For three nights I slept in the Indian room, witch is very colorful decorated.
To replace the bunk beds without losing places to sleep, they made in half the room like a second floor. And because the rooms have a very high ceiling, that works out well. This is one of the things I like the most I think.

Under the bed there was a proper locker. But I did not have the feeling of using it. The hostel has an safe and friendly atmosphere. And whenever you needed something, they were always there to help you out!!
The breakfast they offer is well worth it. And if you feel like cooking your self, the kitchen had everything you need.

When you look out for a safe, clean and friendly hostel, you won't regret your stay at Aventure! I can highly recommend it!

So, Agnes and Hédi, thanks a lot and see you next time I'll visit Budapest! :-)

Dajo Brinkman.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dajobrinkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The moment we walked into Aventura we felt at home! The people that are behind the desk treated us like close friends and went out their way to help with whatever we needed....which was more than usual! The rooms are incredible. Very beautiful theme in each of them, all very clean, very comfortable. The lockers are huge and safe. The kitchen is well equipped and the showers were awesome.

Would stay in Aventura next time! We intended to spend 4 days and stayed 8.

(The retro apartment is also one of the best things we did in Pest!)

Thanks Aventura!

From Sejla and Dane :-) Hope to see ya soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dane_stammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hostel is near a metro station, and they receive you with a smile in the face!! The rooms are great, quiet environment. Only thing, you have to climb half floor form the elevator with the bags. Beside that, perfect. The breakfast is really good and cheap (1,5eur), they rent towels, they have cheap laundry, and the best of all, you feel at home with the attention of the staff...I have been in almost 10 hostels around 3 continents last two months, and this is the best by far...I recommend it for sure!!

P.D: Watch out in the metro with the inspectors!! they are waiting for you to catch you without validate your ticket, and make you pay 6000fl...I told you!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enzo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We book the Retro apartment for a week in August 2010 and it was not a pleasant stay.
First of all the bed was terrible: an old bed, probably with springs or something like that which sticked into your back. So we had to sleep in the double sofa which was much more comfortable!!!
The TV didn't work well: the audio was bad. Of course we do not care much about the TV when we are on holiday, but the TV was a "service" included in the apartment fare!
So we payed for something that didn't work well.
The apartment was not very clean: we found scum in the bathroom and in the bedroom (that we didn't use because of the awful bed). The fridge was dirty, so we didn't use it.
The smell of the apartment was not very pleasant, probably because of the old fornitures.
Neither in the bedroom nor in the living room there was a wardrobe or something like that where you could put your clothes (in the living room there were fornitures but they had a bad smell so we chose to leave our clothes in our luggages).
Last but not least the neighbours were renovating a flat so every morning drills and hammers woke up us at 8 a.m.. In the apartment there are plenty of notices asking you to respect the neighbours and to avoid making noise after 10 p.m. but the neighbours don't respect you at all. We couldn't sleep!!!! But the real question is: was the adventura hostel owner aware of the restructuring work? Why didn't he/she tell us?
Fortunately after Budapest we went to Prague and we slept at the Elf Hostel (single room with private bathroom) which was much more better and cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Marika,

We are so terribly sorry that you had such a bad stay with us. And we even more sorry that you didn't communicate your problems right away. If you did so, we could have helped. We really pay attention to all the details, and really listen to every complain we receive. Actually "Retro Apartment" is our most favourable place amoung our guests. Everyone loves it, and we never ever received such a bad feedback on this apartment. If you have a look at the 3rd review and also the one before that, they are both talking about they stay in Retro Apartment and how much they loved it.
However, it is true that the Retro Apartment has a different smell, since it is a real home with real very very old (about 60 years old) furniture. Families lived in this apartment for generations. Nothing is changed, this is exactly why people love it. This is how we advertise it as well. But since your complain, we have placed scents in the wardrobe, because we do beleive that it might disturb other people as well. So thank you for this notice!

Unfortunatelly we (owners) cannot control the cleaning staff every time, and maybe in the August high season they were more rushed and didn't do a 100% job. There is no excuse for that, it is absolutely not acceptable and we appologies for that, You could have given us a phoncall that you have problem with cleanliness,and there is no question that we send someone over right away. We even sent cleaning lady (with fresh towles and flowers to clean the apartment) at the half of your stay - you could have told us then what she should pay attantion for.

Also to finetune the TV only takes for few minutes. If you tell us, we do it for you right away. Sometimes guests are looking for channels by retuning the TV, and then some channels get out of tune.

That is true that we didn't know about the renovation, since we are not living there. But again, if you tell us, that you don't accept this accomodation, than we could have had look for a more suitable apartment in the area and return your money.

Please, accept our appologies again for your unpleasant stay and we really hope that we will have a chance to change your thoughts about Aventura!

Best regards,
Agnes and Hedi
Owners of Aventura Boutique Hostel and Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

the girls at Aventura were great. After being double booked in another hostel, they took my extremely late booking with no worries, and made me feel right at home. Very cool hostel - just like staying in someone's apartment! The girls (sorry, i've forgotton their names!) had great tips for where to go, different places to see, and nothing was ever a hassle. Would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indietraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The staff was amazing, the hostel was extremely clean, the themed rooms were a nice touch, and we couldn't have had a more enjoyable stay. The hostel is quite small, giving it a nice family, communal feel which is perfect for friends traveling together as the staff are extremely friendly and the arrangement of the hostel facilitates tons of fun interactions with the other guests. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosfan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 334 in Budapest
371 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#132 of 334 in Budapest
672 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#112 of 334 in Budapest
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
599 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#62 of 334 in Budapest
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Boutique Hostel

Property: Aventura Boutique Hostel
Address: 12 Visegradi str., 1st floor/ 1st apt. | District 13, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#76 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Boutique Hostel offers you stylishly designed spacious themed rooms. Instead of bunk beds we have intimate lofts, with a nice feeling of more personal space. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aventura Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hostel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing