We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel(Budapest)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
$165
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
$107
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$141
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$132
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
153
47
9
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
47
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomretro apartmentfamily apartmentshared roomsmetro station and within walking distancewashing facilitiesother guestsmain receptionabsolutely stay here againmargaret islandcouple of nightsgreat facilitiespublic transitvisit budapestbed rooma great stayfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 223 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We book the Retro apartment for a week in August 2010 and it was not a pleasant stay.
First of all the bed was terrible: an old bed, probably with springs or something like that which sticked into your back. So we had to sleep in the double sofa which was much more comfortable!!!
The TV didn't work well: the audio was bad. Of course we do not care much about the TV when we are on holiday, but the TV was a "service" included in the apartment fare!
So we payed for something that didn't work well.
The apartment was not very clean: we found scum in the bathroom and in the bedroom (that we didn't use because of the awful bed). The fridge was dirty, so we didn't use it.
The smell of the apartment was not very pleasant, probably because of the old fornitures.
Neither in the bedroom nor in the living room there was a wardrobe or something like that where you could put your clothes (in the living room there were fornitures but they had a bad smell so we chose to leave our clothes in our luggages).
Last but not least the neighbours were renovating a flat so every morning drills and hammers woke up us at 8 a.m.. In the apartment there are plenty of notices asking you to respect the neighbours and to avoid making noise after 10 p.m. but the neighbours don't respect you at all. We couldn't sleep!!!! But the real question is: was the adventura hostel owner aware of the restructuring work? Why didn't he/she tell us?
Fortunately after Budapest we went to Prague and we slept at the Elf Hostel (single room with private bathroom) which was much more better and cheaper!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

Dear Marika,

We are so terribly sorry that you had such a bad stay with us. And we even more sorry that you didn't communicate your problems right away. If you did so, we could have helped. We really pay attention to all the details, and really listen to every complain we receive. Actually "Retro Apartment" is our most favourable place amoung our guests. Everyone loves it, and we never ever received such a bad feedback on this apartment. If you have a look at the 3rd review and also the one before that, they are both talking about they stay in Retro Apartment and how much they loved it.
However, it is true that the Retro Apartment has a different smell, since it is a real home with real very very old (about 60 years old) furniture. Families lived in this apartment for generations. Nothing is changed, this is exactly why people love it. This is how we advertise it as well. But since your complain, we have placed scents in the wardrobe, because we do beleive that it might disturb other people as well. So thank you for this notice!

Unfortunatelly we (owners) cannot control the cleaning staff every time, and maybe in the August high season they were more rushed and didn't do a 100% job. There is no excuse for that, it is absolutely not acceptable and we appologies for that, You could have given us a phoncall that you have problem with cleanliness,and there is no question that we send someone over right away. We even sent cleaning lady (with fresh towles and flowers to clean the apartment) at the half of your stay - you could have told us then what she should pay attantion for.

Also to finetune the TV only takes for few minutes. If you tell us, we do it for you right away. Sometimes guests are looking for channels by retuning the TV, and then some channels get out of tune.

That is true that we didn't know about the renovation, since we are not living there. But again, if you tell us, that you don't accept this accomodation, than we could have had look for a more suitable apartment in the area and return your money.

Please, accept our appologies again for your unpleasant stay and we really hope that we will have a chance to change your thoughts about Aventura!

Best regards,
Agnes and Hedi
Owners of Aventura Boutique Hostel and Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

the girls at Aventura were great. After being double booked in another hostel, they took my extremely late booking with no worries, and made me feel right at home. Very cool hostel - just like staying in someone's apartment! The girls (sorry, i've forgotton their names!) had great tips for where to go, different places to see, and nothing was ever a hassle. Would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indietraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The staff was amazing, the hostel was extremely clean, the themed rooms were a nice touch, and we couldn't have had a more enjoyable stay. The hostel is quite small, giving it a nice family, communal feel which is perfect for friends traveling together as the staff are extremely friendly and the arrangement of the hostel facilitates tons of fun interactions with the other guests. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoosfan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I just stayed five nights with a friend at the fabulous retro apartment in Budapest. It is quite large but still cozy, location is EXCELLENT, it is spotless and absolutely wonderful if you want a comfortable stay in the heart of town. It is located on a quiet street and is just minutes away from major sights like the opera house and the basilica. I would not want to stay anywhere else if I return to Budapest. There are great cafes and restaurants around and a little supermarket right accross the street with delicious freshly baked goods. The metro is literally one block away although walking out of the apartment and just wandering on foot is great because the neighbourhood is charming and so close to everything. We were elated when we walked in and found what a great spot we'd landed into. They also have hi speed internet access which made it easy for us to plan our days since we were there for quite some time. Highly recommend it to anyone. Great for friends and great for couples. Just a great place all around. Thanks Aventura!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I recently rented Aventura's "Retro Apartment" in Budapest for two nights. It was an excellent choice - a spacious apartment that sleeps four, decorated with retro furniture and art.

It is near the Opera House and several metro stations. It was a great location for exploring the major street Andrassy Ut, the hip nightlife of the Jewish Quarter and much more.

It is in a very quiet building - we felt secure and slept well at night. There are two friendly bars near the building, and Yellow Zebra Bike Tours are just around the corner. We went on a good bike tour with them, then hired bikes for a day to explore the city by ourselves.

We had to check in at the main Aventura hostel to collect the keys. The receptionist was kind, and helped us during our stay - she booked a cab for us, and also explained how to get to the airport - which we appreciated.

The apartment would be ideal for 2-4 friends travelling together, or for a couple who want a "home away from home". Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews