We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
158
49
9
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
49
9
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews africa room retro apartment family apartment space room japanese room shared rooms lovely kitchen train and metro station washing facilities margaret island other guests couple of nights walking distance rooms are great stayed nights visit budapest a great stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 231 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

I had a great stay in Aventura boutique hotel. They’re staffs were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our journey. The location of he hotel is very central, which makes it easy to travel around.
Also, this is the cleanest hostel I’ve ever been to. Would recommend it to those who are on budget but are OCD ( Like me ) x

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tiong B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

This review is for the family apartment. We stayed at this location at the end of our trip for 6 nights.

Prior to arrival, I sent several emails with questions which were answered within a day. Check-in is until 8 and the front desk staff was friendly and stayed later since we arrived right at 8pm.

Some positive remarks about the apartment: The kids loved it. The theming in the large kid’s room was perfect. There was enough room for them to play. The hostel has a play kitchen and duplo sets to play with as well as children’s books available in multiple languages. The location was a big plus. It was easy access to the M3 metro and Trams 4 & 6 and only 15 minutes’ walk to Parliament.

Unfortunately, there were many things we did not like. The apartment is a block away from the main hostel. We didn’t have a problem with that, but we didn’t know where to park at check in knowing the apartment is in a separate location. We arrived on a Wednesday night and had to circle for 20 minutes to find a parking spot. The only parking is street parking and we ended up 3 blocks away lugging our bags and children. You will have to climb steps with your bags. There is an elevator, but it is after the first set of steps. If you are coming with a stroller, going up and down steps will not be fun.

The rooms were clean, but everything was dated. That may be an ambiance some are looking for, but we felt that the walls and floors looked uncared for. There is a stove and clothes washer – both were in need of replacing. The kitchen was not welcoming for use. The pan was past its useful life, the dishwasher soap bottle was empty, and the sponge looked too dirty to use anymore. We immediately went to the grocery store to buy a new pan, soap, and sponges. The table meant for 4 people was too small for our family to eat at comfortably.

The second bedroom, meant for the parents, was tight. The bed was right up against the 2 side walls which meant no space for a night stand. We couldn’t walk next to the bed, but had to climb onto the bed from the bottom instead of the side. There was very little storage to unpack our suitcases. The kids room did not have a dresser, but there was more space to place things than in the parents’ room.

The bathroom was clean. It had a soap dispenser in the shower. That was empty, too. The hot water heater was small so 4 people could not shower back to back.

The unit does not have air conditioning. We opened our windows, but then it became very noisy. The kids side was really only noisy on Friday and Saturday night (we stayed 6 nights). However, the room for the adults meant a 5am wakeup if you opened the window. That side faced a courtyard which every sound echoes into the room. A baby crying for an hour at 545am the first morning… everyone going up
and down the elevator…. people talking in the courtyard below… doors to their apartments slamming shut. It was VERY noisy.

The wifi: The router was in the room meant for the children and weakened quickly as you went away from it. The internet was slow in the kitchen and did not work at all in the parent’s bedroom. After the kids were in bed, we had to sit on the couch by the bathroom to go online.

I had high hopes for this location after reading the many positive reviews. However, I was very disappointed. I would rather pay the extra 10 Euro and stay at the apartment we stayed at on our arrival into Hungary 2 weeks prior.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Tulajdonos at Aventura Boutique Hostel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Steven,
Thank you very much for this very helpful review. I am very glad that your kids have enjoyed the apartment. Indeed, there are lots of toys for the little ones and I keep on buying foreign children books as well to enlarge our library for kids.
Yes, you are right about the parking. Unfortunately, parking is an issue in our area, as it is the centre of the city. Parking on the street is expensive and it is very hard to find a place. This is the price of staying the middle of the city, right at the metro station. But if you had asked our help, we could have given you hints where to leave your car for a reasonable price. Actually, we have a precise instruction for parking on our website under the Location & Direction page.
Thank you so much for the other comments. We have reviewed our kitchen stuff immediately and bought some new things. Thanks for the notice! Yes, the bedroom is small indeed. We used to have a smaller bed, so you can walk beside it, but at one point we decided to have a large bed instead. Most people prefer larger bed, even if they have to climb from the front. But it is really a question of taste. Super useful comment about the wifi! We just moved the modem to the middle room, so the access is better from the bedroom as well. These things only turn out if a guest complains, as we never use internet in the apartment, while cleaning. It is a pity, that you didn’t let us know while you were here, as we could have done something right then.
You are right, washing machine and stove are not new, but my environmental friendly mind doesn’t let me to replace something which works, just because it is old. But I know that some people doesn’t like outdated things, so I have to consider replacing them…
Thank you again for these useful comments. It is a great help for the improvments. Hope you have enjoyed your holiday in Budapest though and will come back one day to our beautiful capital city.
Best regards,
Agnes
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Aventura B. H. it is place where you can feel like at home, team is very kind and polite and they do their best to satisfy costumer. It is located at the center of city, was very close to Parliament building and restaurants. The place includes kitchen equipped with all necessary dishes for cooking.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Artnet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018

We booked the family apartment for our stay and it was an amazing apartment. We got 2 nice room, a very well furnished kitchen and a nice balcony. The reception was friendly and helped us with all our queries.

Overall this gave us the best of both worlds - freedom like in Airbnb & service of any professional hotels. Highly recommended from my side!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinavasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

My friend and I stayed at the retro apartment for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. Incredible value for money. Super stylish and spacious- we loved the balcony and the little touches like the cool lamp thing in the bedroom.
Everything had been thought of- from hairdryer to towels to tin-openers.
The apartment is in a great location- everything we wanted to visit was in walking distance.
The staff at the hostel were super lovely and helpful. Thank you so much Blanca and team!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank megan99998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews