We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$175
$126
Mercure
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Castle Garden(Budapest)
$505
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
$136
Trip.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$170
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$116
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$251
$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$106
Elvoline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
148
46
9
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
46
9
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomretro apartmentfamily apartmentspace roomjapanese roommetro station and within walking distancelovely kitchenwashing facilitiesother guestsmain receptionabsolutely stay here againresidential buildingmargaret islandcouple of nightsrooms are greatpublic transitvisit budapest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 216 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Best rooms by far of any hostel I have stayed in and great staff who are really friendly and helpful. Great location near the metro and train station. Only minor points are that the showers a less private than other hostels and only one toilet each (men/women). Overall very good indeed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spendt three days in Aventura Hostel.

Let's start saying that I am not the "thipical hostel guy", as I usually stay in hotels.
I found this place pretty good.
We staid in the "Japanese Room", which is the smallest (2 persons only, just one big bed) and probably the worst, as it lacks personality if compared to the others. Just plain white walls with a black japanese bed and a couple of black forniture pieces in front of it. It would need some painting as walls are not ver white anymore.

Hostel is pretty clean, which is important. In the bathroom ok.. everybody left shampoos, razors and everything everywhere but overall it was ok, can't really complain on it.

Staff is very friendly. Young people changing everyday, giving good advises on what to do and see. Yuo are not allowed to take room keys with you but there are people 24h to open the hostel door.

Breakfast : we did not had breakfast in the hostel. Yuo can cook things yourself or you can have something for small amounts, but I can't comment on it.
Lunch/Dinner: there are shared areas where you can cook yourself what you bought at the supermarket

Location: hostel is not in the city center, it's near the West End shopping center, but there is a metro station at the end of the street, so getting to the city centers only takes 15 minutes with it.

Remarks:
not major remarks, just a couple.
- you can't take the keys with you, you must leave them to the guy that overlooks the hostel when you go out. This is quite annoying as there are no lockers in the room, so you have to leave your personal belongings in the room. Since people change everyday at the reception it was quite weird (I left the keys at 4 different persons in three days).
- they only accept cash, you must pay when you arrive, and they do not give any receipt. It's quite annoying as if you don't know if you have to waste time to go back and forth from the hostel for the payment, although you can pay alongthe day leaving the baggage.

Room Tip: Japanese room is for single individuals or couples. If you are looking for something fancy you must go for Africa, India or Space although those rooms are for groups (Africa is for 8 people I think)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio83_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Fabio,

Thank you very much for your comment. It is a good point that our Japanese double room needs new painting. We will do that very soon.

Also it is a good remark that you felt unconvenient to leave the key of the room at the reception. (Some people are happy that they don't have to carry it arround) But from now guests can choose wether if they want to take it with them or not.

We are located in the center, but not in the downtown, which is the 5th district. 5th district is only about 150 m from the hostel. We are in 15 minutes walking distance from the Parlament, Bazilica, Opera House and Margaret Island.

Cash, advanced payment in hostels is absolutely accepted practice.

Thank you again for these helpfull comments. We hope you will be one of our many returning guests!
Best regards,
Agnes Erdohati
Owner
Aventura Boutique Hostel and Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It has been a while since our stay here but my friend and I chose the Retro Apartment. Even before booking, we already knew that we had to get the key to the apartment from the main hostel, but still, actually doing it was a bit of a hassle with our bags. But that aside, our stay was satisfactory. The room was big enough even for 2 people. The beds/couch were ok but could be better. The kitchen was complete and we even managed to cook a few meals.The location was good, with eateries and stores within the area. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that generally you had a good time in Aventura Retro Apartment.

REGARDING THE BEDS
I am not sure in which room you were sleeping, since you stayed here almost a year ago. There is three separate rooms in Rerto Apartment. One has a double bed, the other has two separate beds and the living room has a sofa bed, which is never open and only suitable for children. The separate beds in the middle room can be a bit hard for tourists (we Hungarians love the hard beds :) ), but the double bed in the bedroom should be just fine. There was a time when the bed room was closed - maybe you stayed here in those days.
But now if you stay in Retro Apartment, you can choose where to sleep.

ABOUT LOCATION
It is true that Retro Apartment is right in the downtown one metro stop from the hostel. It is very well located: two minuetes from the Bazilica and two minutes from the Opera House. I think it worth the effort to take one metro stop from the hostel where you check in, in return you can reach everything by walk during your whole stay.

I hope we will see you some other time in our hostel or apartments!
Agnes Erdohati
Owner
Aventura Boutique Hostel and Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were booked into stay into the africa room for 2 nights at this. The idea was nice with attic sleeping area, however in practise, as my brother was 6'5, wasnt quite so appealing. It was impossible to move around upstairs without hitting your head, and when we went downstairs we were told we'd have to sleep upstairs as the beds downstairs were booked (although actually none of them were ever occupied). However most importantly, we found the bed had not only bed bugs crawling all over, but beetles the size of your fingernail. We certainly did not have a good nights sleep after that. The staff were reasonably helpful, finding us another hostel for the next night, and refunding us our payment, however we were told this was a reoccuring problem at the hostel, so maybe a good idea to check before staying in this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eeb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review and we are terribly sorry for this bad experience. We would like to inform you and all the travellers, that after your issue with the bed bugs we have made the necessary steps and now we re happy to say that africa room is totaly clear. Unfortunatelly bedbugs can appear in any hostel, it doesn't depend on cleanliness. Our hostel has very high cleanleness rating on all website.
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our staff handling your problem. The customer is first, so we always do our best to minimize the unconveniece appearing in these cases.

Regarding the loft - it can be unconvenient for tall travllers indeed, but the idea was to replace bunk beds where you cannot stand up at all and absolutely doesn't give you a personal space. In the loft you have a much more space like on the top of a bunk bed, plus it is a bit separated from the others.

I wish you pleasant journey for the rest of your year.
Best regards,
Agnes Erdohati
owner of Aventura Boutique Hostel and Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I loved this hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the place is small enough to feel comfortable, with very clean facilities and comfortable sleeping arrangements. I liked the sleeping platforms that give some privacy in the dorms, and the fact that there are no bunk beds! It is well situated for the city, with transport connections and the beautiful Margaret Island within easy walking distance. I ended up staying here for 2 weeks, and recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank snufkin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews