We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George you are amazing!”
Review of Maxim Hostel

Maxim Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maxim Hostel
Ranked #312 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We chose this hostel as it was one of the cheapest options in Budapest with a good rating. Being one of the last destinations on our Eurotrip, we were least concerned with the hostel but boy did George make the stay worthwhile. He welcomed us nicely and waited for us at the hostel even when we got late. He was really courteous and polite and gave us 20 minutes of his time explaining everything in the hostel and what to do in Budapest, how much time to spend and how to commute.

The hostel is located on Raday Utca, a great street in Budapest, close to the tram and metro stops and has infinite good eateries on the road - many of them highly rated. It also has a great Indian restarant (India Etterem) just 2-3 minutes away by foot, which serves the best Indian food I've had in whole of Europe at a decent price point (7-8 Euros for a dish and naan).

The rooms were decent, nothing special. As the hostel is small, so do not expect night parties or backpacker atmosphere but you can have a nice cozy stay. There are two bathrooms which are clean. The kitchen is extremely clean and well stocked. You can use it to cook and keep your stuff in the refrigerator as well. The hostel serves free mueselli, tea, coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Maxim Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 30 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here in the dorm while traveling to Budapest with some friends. George works so hard to make your stay as comfortable and friendly as possible. He met us at the door to help us check in even when we were expecting to find our way around after hours ourselves! He gave us some local information and answered all the questions we had. The building is unique and you feel like you are in your own apartment, even in the 8 bed dorm! It is more of a "boutique" hostel and is great to get away from the go go go off downtown, but still conveniently located. I have stayed in countless hostels but this one is one of the best experiences I have had. I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

george, you are the best!! thank you so much for your help!

the hostel is very central, therefore its easy to get to the city or to the national museum for example. most of the roommates are friendly and the hostel is also decorated very well. george and his colleague were very welcoming and funny!

we really appreciate your help george and you will definitely hear from us again!
kind regards,
the two girls from germany who cleaned up the kitchen as a thankyou :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0interrail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It sounds harsh, but after 15 countries, 90 nights in different hostels, pensions and backpackers we had thought we had seen it all.

Initially it seemed a basic hostel, but as we stayed longer it got worse, in the end we were there nights, and it was the first place we were happy to leave.

To be fair, the location was good, 15 minutes walk to the local Metro, Close to the shops and food.

Hostel wise, it was another story, the staff were hospitable, but not overly friendly.

There is no kitchen you can use, only the fridge, the dorm had 5 beds, we were in a double room and there was another private room, so 9 people plus 2 staff for 1 shower and 2 toilets.

It was not a clean hostel, as stated we were there for 4 days, and our bins were not emptied, the dorm with 5 people staying in there (with some rotating in and out) bins were not emptied, so by the time we left the bin was over flowing, and starting to smell, general house cleaning was never seen.

Sammy the dog, friendly Staffy that is more than happy to have a pat, roll on your stomach, then hump your leg, put holes in your clothes and then hump your leg again, I love dogs, I LOVE staffies, but in a small hostel, it can and was intimidating (to another guest, we were just not impressed with the bites)

The turtles were cute, but not enough to make us ever to recommend this place, its not family friendly with the pooch, its not clean, the kitchen is not accessible, and its a hike from the station.

On the plus side the internet was fast !

Avoid.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, do not go here !
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I had a complete different experience then the previous review. The staff at Maxim are really friendly and welcoming, they really went out of there way to make sure we had a great stay with them. The whole hostel was extremely clean. It is a 5 minute walk from the metro but still an excellent location with pretty little eateries lined across both sides of the street. All of the cafés and eateries here are all really cheap and good. This is really a great place to stay, for good value. www.MaximHostel.com

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellegallant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

At first, they don`t have 24h reception. This is actually a flat converted to a hostel and the guy who works there only comes when guests arrive and then leaves his phone number in case you need something. After we`d arrived, we had to wait for him for about 3 hours in front of the hostel. When he finally arrived, we paid for three nights. Then, in the middle of the first night, we were woken up by bed bugs and had to move to some other hostel. After all this, they did not gave us our money back. So, please, avoid this hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipmunkNoviSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank agoleniowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Budapest Budget Hostel
#25 of 666 in Budapest
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chesscom
#100 of 332 in Budapest
376 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 332 in Budapest
593 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#117 of 332 in Budapest
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Hostel

Address: Raday utca 31/J | Second Floor, Budapest 1092, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Maxim Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing