We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price.”
Review of Hotel Lucky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lucky
Ranked #241 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Haderslev
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK for the price.”
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Hotel Lucky was OK for us. The room was small, but nice and ok. The bathroom also ok. For the price, it was nice and clean. Our room was located in the forst floor. We was there by car, so please notice that the 4 parking places besides the hotel costs 2200HUF/day - and be lucky if there is some free. Otherwise you can park the car on the other side of the street - below the appartments, or if it's free also in front of the hotel.

The restaurant I cannot recommend! Also not the breakfast buffet.

We had our dog with us - 500HUF a day. That was no problem.

The staff is also very nice, gentle and helpfull.
The area is ok, but nothing else to see, except the local market, wednesday and saturday it's really big. Other days just in a smaller area. But nice and very local to visit.

  • Liked — The green area
  • Disliked — The breakfast buffet
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BenteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
5
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We were at mu cousins wedding and we stayed here the night before we left to come home. The price for the small room was 80 USD and it was not worth the Price, The towels were all severly frayed and the room barely held us and our luggage. $ small pieces. If we were to stay longer we would have moved up into the city center.
Thank goodness we were leaving early. Too early for Breakfast.

  • Liked — it was close to the airport
  • Disliked — Almost everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank popparich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

timisoara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We booked 2 weeks in advance 2 double and 1 triple, by a travel agency. When we arrived there we were told that our reservation was not visible. so after a 3 hour wait, we were told to go to another hotel, polus. fortunately the taxi was paid by the lucky hotel. still, budapest is worth visiting.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank dcrainic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exminster Exeter devon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

This hotel is well worth a visit, it was clean with helpful staff and a ample buffet breakfast but get there before 08.30 as the best choices dont seem to be re plenished. There is a good bus service in to town even the night bus operates from Blaha lutza to the hotel. There is a bar about 200 yards from the hotel with very welcoming hosts and the landlord plays the key board and sings at the weekend and the beer is good and cheap to buy rather than useing the hotel bar.
A very good hotel at a very reasonable rate and only 20 minutes by bus.

Helpful?
9 Thank nigel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Summary

For £30 per night per room, it would be rude to be negative about the Hotel Lucky. I would put this in the "cheap and cheerful" bracket. It's small, friendly and quiet. Above all it's outstandingly good value. If you want luxury or you want to be close to the action, this hotel is not for you.

You'll have probably ended up looking at the Hotel Lucky because it now features on the Easyjet Hotels site and sites like Octopus Travel. As a result of this, you may well be interested on the best way to get to the hotel from the airport and similar tips. So if you can be bothered, read on.

The Hotel

It's situated about 17km from the airport. We hade read up about a minibus service run by the airport that drops off at various hotels. This will cost about 2,100 HUF each for a return ticket which you can buy in the arrivals hall. Coming back, you book the minibus from your hotel the day before your return. It's a bit cheaper than a taxi, but to us not cheaper enough to warrant the risk of being the last to be dropped off! The taxi service is excellent. Turn left out of the arrivals door and you'll see a young man with a laptop behind a small counter. Tell him the name of your hotel and he'll write you out a slip to give to the taxi driver with the cost. This ensures that you have an agreed cost before the journey. The fare was a very reasonable 3,500 HUF (around £10). Getting back to the airport, we used the travel card (see below) and it was easy using a combination of bus, tram and metro.

In terms of the location, Hotel Lucky is in a suburban area with nothing really in the near vacinity. From what we saw, there wasn't much to see or do when wandering around locally.
There is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel.

Rooms

We had two small single beds on opposite sides of the room. There was heating / air conditioning and the en-suite bathroom was adequate. The rooms have mini bars and the prices are not at the rip off levels you come to expect in most places.
Note; the hotel has 4 floors and no lift. Also the restaurant is on the lower ground floor, so more stairs. If you are disabled or elderly, I think you need to avoid this hotel.

Staff

Friendly and helpful even though one of the guys that serves in the restaurant looks like a night club bouncer.

Food

Breakfast was good and we did have dinner in the restaurant which we found enjoyable and very good value.

Cleanliness

All areas were clean and the room well serviced.

Tips

If going from Luton, don't get your curency (HUFs) from Ace foreign exchange (which is by the cash machines as you enter the airport), the exchange rate we got was rubbish - 327 : £1. Get about £30 only if you have to and exchange the rest at the hotel, who were offering 380:£1.

Smokers beware. Although Hungary is in the EU, you can only bring back 200 cigs. Customs officers in the UK look out for people who don't know this and who think that they can bring in as many as they would from Spain. Budapest airport will happily sell you as many as you want - UK customs will be delighted to relieve you of them.

I've read a lot about the ticket inspectors and bent police in Budapest handing out instant fines to unsuspecting tourists. In our time there, we didn't see one ticket inspector or anyone being hassled by police. Since the EU thing in 04, I think they've tried to stamp this out.

Be careful of bag snatchers and pick pockets when around the shopping areas. We were followed around in one store by someone who had split away from his two accomplices and was strangely interested in all the same things that we were. Apparantly it's not a good idea to challenge them but to catch their eye and hold their gaze for a moment so that they know you're onto them. This seemed to work and when we left the store we noticed his two mates browsing ladies lingerie!

Travel

Public transport in Budapest is brilliant. If you smoke, do the cigarette test. That is, I bet you can't finish one before the next bus comes.
To get to the city centre, get the 82 bus from outside the hotel. The hotel will sell you single tickets for this journey. Remember that you have to stamp the ticket in the machine on the bus. After 10 minutes or so it comes to the terminus (by Ikea). Get off here and in front of you, you will see a round building where you can buy a 1, 3 or 7 day tourist pass. We bought a 3 day pass which costs 2,500 each. This enables you to hop on and off the buses, trams and trains within the city. Once you have your ticket, you can get on the metro (use the underpass by the round building) to go into the city. A good station to get off is Deak Ter. This will put you in a good place to start and it is the place where the city's 3 metro lines (M1,M2 and M3) converge. The travel card enables you to get to all the sights and is so much better value than the city tours on offer. Make the effort to get the bus up to the Cittadel and do go in and see the war bunkers, it's worthwhile and the people on the tour busses don't have time to go in, so you'll probably have the place to yourself.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Single beds
  • Tips/Secrets — See review
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank flyinghatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We paid for a comfort triple with balcony. We were allocated a small double with no balcony. Upon complaining we were offered the option to change rooms - the room we moved to was also a small double with a small balcony and with the added charm of ants found under the carpet in sufficient numbers. Upon complaining once again I was asked if there were very many ants or an acceptable level! Again, another room was offered - a drab room with two single beds.

Whilst the hotel staff were friendly, this is certainly not a 3 star hotel. There was one old hair dryer and iron to share between all guests and inadequate bed linen.

However, we were quite taken by the food in the restaurant - although rather depressing in decor the staff were great and we were astonished at the choice and quality of the coffees and hot chocolates, the best french onion soup and the desserts although we did not have a full meal here just drinks and snacks.

Breakfast was carniverous which we would not have minded so much had it been actual meat rather than slices of the processed stuff. If you get down early then you can get delicious eggs and some fresh vegetable offerings.

We would not stay here again although the staff are the best thing about this place - just needs a bit of a TLC.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — the french onion soup is fantastic!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.9 mi away
Matus Hotel
Matus Hotel
#219 of 334 in Budapest
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Passzio Pension
Passzio Pension
#198 of 334 in Budapest
11 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#254 of 334 in Budapest
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#195 of 334 in Budapest
195 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Oswaldo
Hotel Oswaldo
#199 of 334 in Budapest
25 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Classic
Hotel Classic
#262 of 334 in Budapest
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucky

Property: Hotel Lucky
Address: Vezer utca 180, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lucky 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lucky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing