We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next to Danube and modern setup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Danube
Ranked #58 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Next to Danube and modern setup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed the second time in 6 months at the Novotel Budapest Danube and I think it's now time for a review. Located directly at the river Danube you are near to many of the nice attractions of Budapest. The service is nice - though the restaurant is overpriced.

What I liked
- free Wifi and availabe for multiple computers / i-phones / i-pads
- Nice setup of rooms
- Very clean
- Secured by room card elevator
- Restaurant and bar on location
- Friendly staff
- Very quiet setup
- Nice restaurants in walking distance
- TV with German / English / French / Spanish channels
- Minibar in the room
- Save in the room

What I don't like
- Breakfast not included and expensive
- Restaurant high priced
- Preverred destination for bus tours

I will stay again there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaki78089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Danube in Budapest. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    731
    163
    34
    7
See reviews for
427
493
86
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First night ate in restaurant order my meal only half the main course mail served, the remaining food for my main course meal arrived ten minutes later by which time the other part of my main meal had gone stone cold. Second night went down to have dinner, was told that I could not eat in the restaurant that evening as it was fully booked booked for a function ---- not acceptable! They could have used their conference facilities for this! I was told I could eat a a nice restaurant around the corner...not acceptable I am here on business & do not want to have to go to the extend of leaving the hotel to eat! I would not recommend this hotel anymore & I will mention this to our corporate bookings too for it not to be used in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Feel free to call me on +361 225 1530 to discuss this further. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very well located on the Buda side opposite the Parliament Building. Friendly corteous staff and clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast. We stayed for 4 nights and found the service faultless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sionwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Glad you had a good time at Novotel Danube in Budapest! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Chose the hotel to host our sales meeting (Holiday Inn and Novotel World Congress Centre also considered but rejected after having stayed at all 3 in 2012) and was not disapointed with the choice.
- Hotel itself is located opposite the Hungarian Parliament across the River Danube, so easy to find, with parking available.
- The rooms (inc bathrooms) and conference room facilities are comfortable and served their purpose.
- Bar and lobby area is good and the staff (as usual) were professional and friendly which is always a significant plus.

On the "downside" you could only highlight the lack of seating space during breakfast period where tables were hard to find. In the hotel's defence, I believe this was a high occupancy period and they have a lack of space to expand this part. (but it was still a 'down' point.)

In conclussion, another pleasant stay there, and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex_Pat_in_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Novotel Danube. I look forward to welcoming you back at soon,Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
254 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Novotel Budapest Danube right on the banks of the river Danube are really one of the best options to stay if you have business ore leasure to do on the Buda side of the City. Good breakfast, very friendly staff, nice and modern rooms - everything you need to have a good stay in the city. I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiseprofi_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novbotel Danube and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

During our recent trip to Budapest, our family of 4 chose this hotel. We could not have been more pleased with our overall experience. The staff was very welcoming. The rooms were clean and fully updated with all amenities. Every morning we had a great brunch with a fantastic view of the Houses of Parliament - a magnificent building across the Danube. Great choice and great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Danube in Budapest. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

this chain hotel is extraordinary. is nice, wonderful, great location, in the city center, across the Hungarian Parliament. we had a room with this view, Danube and The Parliament and that was extraordinary. the stuff was very helpful, eager to please our requests , friendly, but in the same time silenced and not overwhelmingly helpful.
the design of the hotel is very nice, i like it a lot. the prices are very good. i must admit i haven't tried their menus, so no word there.
the room was large, very comfortable with a king bed, huge and very very comfortable. very clean, warm and cozy. the bathroom was nice also, just the perfect "home" for a getaway or a holiday.
i really recommend this hotel and I've seen all types of 4 and 5 stars hotel but this one is really nice and really comfy, without that pretentious tacky awful impressions of grand hotel.

Room Tip: you must definitely try the rooms with the views of the Parliament. a little expensive but they wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecsandrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Danube. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest City
#88 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#69 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Danube

Property: Novotel Budapest Danube
Address: Bem rakpart 33/34, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Budapest
#38 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#45 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Danube 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Danube is the perfect hotel for a holiday or short break in Budapest. This 4 star hotel on the Buda side of the city, between Margaret Bridge and Chain Bridge, overlooks the Danube and the Parliament. Walk just 10 minutes to the stunning World Heritage Buda Castle or a weekend of fantastic shopping in the cosmopolitan city centre. Enjoy the hotel restaurant and bar and unwind in our gym and sauna. The hotel is fully accessible for guests with limited mobility. Onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Budapest Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Danube Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Danube
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing